We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel Special”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
A TripAdvisor Member
York
11
Reviewed 8 November 2005

The Highfield Hotel in Middlesbrough really know how to look after guests and it is always my first choice when in the Teesside area.
The food (Lobster) and service are unbelivable. The hotel makes me feel special. WELLDONE HIGHFIELD HOTEL

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2005

Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sh0rtbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2005

Excellent, friendly hotel with fantastic food. Nothing too much trouble. Know how to look after a guest.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelInspector_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2005

Friendly and Accomodating staff but hotel and room seriously run down and below standard for the price. The room we were given was very small just enough room to get around the beds and a very tiny rattling window. The previous guest had been smoking cigars, when asked there was no non-smoking rooms. The price we paid did not reflect the standard. We only booked there because the Holiday Express also on Marton road was full, but never again. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allthenamesused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cullompton, Devon, UK
29
Reviewed 12 November 2004

We stayed at the Highfield for good access to the Teesside Autodrome, and ideally located for this it was, taking only 5 mins to get to the autodrome in the morning. Finding the hotel the evening before was slightly more difficult as a bit tucked away, but it only took us 10 minutes to find it after reaching Middlesbrough town. It was a bit disconcerting to see broken glass in the carpark, as we did not know the area, but were happy to see on checking in that security cameras where operational in the carpark.
Booking at the last minute we arrived to find we had the bridal suite! This was fine, a very nice room four poster bed and spotlessly clean white bedding with a rather large television.
I was disappointed to find one small towel in the ensuite bathroom did have lipstick on it! However, after scruitinising the others they were all spotless. The grouting between the tiles in the bath/shower area seemed to have some mildew. But honestly I have stayed in much worse! Everything else was clean and tidy.
There was room service available, that we didn't use as it looked a bit pricy! The menu for the restaurant looked nice, again maybe a bit pricy, so we ventured out after checking in, to find a McDonalds 5 mins away!
We only stayed one night, but it was a pleasant stay, we would consider staying there again, although to be brutally honest wouldn't recommed it to family!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Magnus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternMiddles, Receptionist at Highfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
168 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#10 of 11 in Middlesbrough
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
0.3 mi away
Longlands Hotel
Longlands Hotel
#7 of 11 in Middlesbrough
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £31 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing