We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of The Apple Tree Pub

The Apple Tree Pub
Ranked #72 of 296 Restaurants in Middlesbrough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: we are friendly family run local public house that sells food and drink we have a menu with a lot of choices and a specials board with the local parmesan a firm favourite we also have a children's menu Sunday lunches are very popular so it is advisable to book we have a general knowledge quiz on a Tuesday and music and entertainment quiz on a Sunday Our meal times are Monday to Saturday 12 till 9.45 Sunday 12-4.30
Burnley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the pub and it was average at best. Menu is simple and food is ok. Wouldn't say it was one of the best places I've eaten.
Simple ordinary pub food, just ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank mrpotato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    14
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tees Valley
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A very decent lunch”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We've used the Apple Tree for decades through a number of owners and varying standards of food. After a long absence we called for lunch recently and found it to be pretty decent. My son had the chicken parmesan, husband mince and dumplings and I had the ham and eggs. Chips were home made as were the onion rings which we enjoyed. The ham with the eggs was pretty standard thin sliced more suitable for sandwiches. Be nice to have a better quality thick cut for a main meal.

Price was decent and the pub is comfortable. It's good to find a pub with a proper disabled toilet too for wheelchair users.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank julesTeesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesborough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Food excellent, friendly staff keep up the good work Alan and staff :-) I would recommend to visit the Apple Tree !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having moved to this area, we decided to try all the local pubs.
I can honestly say that this is an absolute gem of a pub for food & drink with a chilled out atmosphere.
We have now had several meals here and would highly recommend it.
This is now our no1 choice and the family love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
380 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great home cooked food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The food here is excellent, home cooked and fresh and it really shows, unlike some places that serve pre-packed rubbish.
The Parmo's are to die for, best I have ever had, the service was good and the staff friendly and since last time I was in it's been refurbished.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JackoMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Apple Tree Pub also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Marton, Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Apple Tree Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing