We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nobody knows what they are talking about.”

Middlesbrough Town Hall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Caterham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nobody knows what they are talking about.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My Husband and I visited Middlesbrough for the first time so we thought we would got to the tourist information centre. We could see no road signs directing us to the centre so went into the Citizen Advise Bureau who told us there was no Information centre in Middlesbrough but the library might be able to help us. We had to keep asking directions but eventually found the library where we were told to go to the Town Hall on reaching there we were told we wanted the Box Office. So off we go again and eventually found the information centre but when we told them what trouble we had finding the place the woman behind the desk laughed, which was very annoying. After looking at the leaflets we asked if they had information on the Transporter Bridge which we knew was shut but thought it would be interesting to read about it. After turning all the cupboards and drawers out they produced a used sheet which had been stuck on the wall. Then asked did they sell postcards which they did but they were stuck on a board behind the desk, what they were hidden away for I really don't know. As a tourist we were made very unwelcome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Main Hall and Crypt entertainment”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Probably the best venue in town for either concerts in the Main Hall or more intimate setting on the Crypt. Good atmosphere generated in this grade 2 listed venue and attracts decent acts that return because of the reception they receive. The town /area could do with a larger venue to attract more popular acts, but that does not detract from this impressive venue.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VicW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historical Gem”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had the pleasure of experiencing the Town Hall first hand because a friend had an office there so I was able to see parts of the building that is not normally on view.
It is a fascinating piece of history and of beautiful architecture which makes you feel a sense of pride in being from Middlesbrough.
I hope it remains the pride of Teesside because far too many gems have been destroyed in the past.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MisscakeNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Convenient Cultural Centre for Teesside”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Middlesbrough Town Hall is located in the central area of the town at the junction of Albert Road and Corporation Road. Its tall clock-tower makes it a very distinctive land-mark. The building acts as both an administrative and cultural centre for the Teesside area. As a social and cultural attraction, the Town Hall hosts a wide variety of entertainment that includes, 'pop' and classical concerts and various other forms of light entertainment. The venue has some good bar facilities - but sadly lacks any type of restaurant area. However, there is a good selection of near-by eating-houses available that adequately compensate for this short-coming. We regularly visit this venue, mainly, but not exclusively so, to attend classical concerts. We have always enjoyed our visits and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There is adequate and convenient ‘safe’ car parking facilities at, and near to, the venue. Undoubtedly, the Town Hall is a valuable, useful and convenient cultural centre for the people of Teesside and its surrounding areas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Middlesbrough Town Hall also viewed

Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Middlesbrough Town Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing