We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Great hotel for the price you pay, it was clean and comfortable, the only bad point being there was a bit of wear on some items of furniture and the wi-fi was slow and signal strength wasn't very good in my room. The room is fairly large with a desk area, open wardrobe and flatscreen TV with freeview. The bathroom is fairly small, but adequate, the shower was good and powerful, and bathroom was stocked with Dove liquid soap dispensers.

In terms of food, the breakfast was very good, and there was a good variety of food. In the hot area, there was sausage, bacon, black pudding, fried bread, hash browns, mushrooms, tomatoes, fried eggs, beans, toaster, you can also order items to order like poached eggs on toast, boiled eggs and soldiers, kippers, porridge etc. Jugs of juice and water were available, as was a cold selection of meats and cheeses, coffee and tea. All in all, a great choice. I did not eat at dinner time so cannot comment.

The attached gym was excellent, there were loads of cardio equipment, resistance machines and free weights with benches, smith machine, plus cable machine and various other machines. There was also a good sized swimming pool heated to a comfortable temperature, as well as a jacuzzi spa, sauna and steamroom all of which were large in size.

All in all, a very good hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the hotel, or with a good wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SukyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    178
    190
    126
    151
See reviews for
110
188
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of our Christmas night out deal . Room was warm , clean and comfy bed . Breakfast was lovely . Great choice and plenty
Swimming pool etc was great but dirty changing rooms ... Lots of hair on floor and showers !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I do alot of business travel, and after a hard days work and travelling up the M1/A1, I just want to sit and relax and enjoy some nice food and wine. I was very disappointed with this hotel and wish I checked the reviews on Trip Advisor first.
The food in the restaurant wasn't great, but still expensive and wine wasn't very nice at all. The wifi in the room wasn't working and had to go downstairs to ask the very helpful young lad on reception to look at it. The TV kept turning off every 15 minutes and I had to switch it off and on again from the back every 10 minutes. At breakfast the plates were dirty, and the glasses for the juice were grubby.
overall the place could do with a lick of paint and new carpet in hallways, just to make it feel better. But I guess you get what you pay for!!!! I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walsall1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Great location for me as I have been a regular business user however I will be looking elsewhere from now on as the cons outway the benefits. Generally the rooms are not as clean as they should be in particular the bathrooms, all of which seem to have at least one maintenance fault. The beds are the big issue because they are by far and away the most uncomfortable of any, and I've slept on a few. The gym and spa are an asset but the the male change rooms were filthy, I'm amazed I didn't catch anything, nice touch giving out clean towles though, pity.

Room Tip: One of the 'newer' ones, if there is such a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The room was quite tired, furniture needed replacing, but overall the staff were excellent. Particularly the young man who checked us in and the breakfast ladies.
Breakfast was fabulous, cooked as required due to not too many guests (23/12 - 24/12). Overall, value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from the conference room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyC999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I came to the sporting lodge for a just dance christmas night which was absolutely brilliant. We had a warm buffet which was gorgeous with a wide variety of choice. The music was great and the room was set up really nice. The supervisor Aliy was very helpful and all staff were friendly.

Thanks for a night to remember on behalf of James cook CCU ward. However we should of won the twelve days of Christmas haha :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casa949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed in the Sporting Lodge for a works christmas party night. Checking in the Staff were very helpful and informative. The room was clean and basic with tea making facilties. The Bathroom was clean yet a little dated. The beds were very comfortable with additional pillows.

The food at the party was amazing and the service was very good too, again all the staff were very helpful and professional. The entertainment was a little disappointing but overall enjoyed the night thoroughly

We ate in the attached pub for our full continental breakfast. We arrived half an hour before it finished and although there were still food left, there wasnt much variety as it seemed they didnt replenish for customers arriving at the later time. Overall the food and drinks that we had was very nice and again the service from the staff was very good and could not be faulted.

Although we never took advantage of all the facilties The gym facilties looked amazing.

Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
110 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.9 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#10 of 11 in Middlesbrough
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#9 of 11 in Middlesbrough
230 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
383 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Property: Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing