We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked a leisure weekend with the hotel and thought it was great value for the money.Two nights bed and breakfast a three course evening meal on the first night and a bottle of wine on the second if we had dinner in the hotel.The cost was £120.The breakfast was very good and the dinner was excellent.Ok parts of the hotel looked a little tired and dated but the room we had was nicely decorated and clean .The only thing I would like to see different would be nets or blinds at the windows as being on the ground floor we felt a bit like gold fish in a bowl.The swimming pool and leisure facilities were really good aswell and the staff were very friendly and helpful.We would stay here again with no hesitation if we are visiting Middlesbrough as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main area of the hotel and if possible one that has been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Carol,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at Sporting Lodge, Middlesbrough.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and that you felt that it was good value for money.

I have however taken your comments on board about having Nets or Blinds at the windows in the Ground floor bedrooms.

Yours faithfully,

Louise Waters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    176
    179
    118
    147
See reviews for
101
181
42
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night due to a work conference and I am glad I will not have to go back.Upon arrival,the lady behind the desk was in the middle of telling off anoter member of staff in full view of anyone that was walking in the door,which was unprofessional an made me feel uncomfortable.My room was small(which was fine as I was the single occupant)but clean.However,I did notice that a large hole in the carpet by the bed had been covered up with gaffa tape and the mattress was paper thin and all the springs had gone.I went early for dinner in the adjoining restaurant and found it to be very very dark and dingy,and decorated in very dark colours,which added to the whole effect.I was the only occupant of the place but still it took over 20 minutes for my steak and blue cheese sauce to arrive!When it did,the steak was well cooked but the sauce was thin and weak.Certainly not work the £20 paid!The cost of the room was £90 which if it hadn't have been for the necessity of work I would have refused to pay.An outrageous amount of money for such poor standards.Needless to say I would not recommend and would travel further for a better hotel if I ever had to attend the area foe work again.Truly disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay here at Sporting Lodge, Middlesbrough.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay in respect of both the accommodation provided to you and your meal in the Restaurant.

We have started a programme whereby, bedroom carpets are being gradually replaced, as I am sure that you can understand is a costly process. I will however be undertaking a review of the bedroom mattresses.

With regards to the food in the Restaurant, a new Menu is being launched today, with a period of re-training scheduled in with the Restaurant team. As for the décor, this is something that is to be reviewed in the future.

I do hope that you would consider using the Hotel in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Louise Waters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on 6th September 2013. We were there for a wedding, which was all contained in the same grounds. The Hotel is easy to find and we found parking easy. We arrived slightly earlier than the official check in time, and understood our room may not be available. We were ok with this as the wedding started before our official check in time(2pm), andmy wife wanted to see her best friend before the event so we were prepared to dress in a spare room. Her room was called the Thornton suite and was very pleasant. Unfortunately, this was just a holding room until the 'Bridal Suite' was ready.

We were very pleased to be told that our room was ready a short time later, Our room was on the first floor and had been recently decorated. It was clean and tidy and perfectly adequate for our needs.

The wedding was fantastic, and would certainly recomend this venue. After the intial ceremony we were asked to vacate and go to the Bar area, which was called Poste House and was nicely done out. This was great to socialise with other guests as the dining room was being prepared. The wedding food was excellent and the staff friendly. Throughout the day guests could move between the bar and the dining room (which also had a bar).

We stayed for the inclusive breakfast, which was nice and hot. There was your usual mix of hot and cold breakfasts, but nursing a hangover, I plumped for the fry up. Before we left we said goodbye to the married couple and other guests. It became apparant that each room was very different. The bridal suite was very disappointing,(room 161). It wasn't even called The Bridal Suite. The room was actually smaller than ours and was at a lower spec. The 4 poster bed (I'm supposing this quantified it as being the bridal suite) was a DIY special. Decorated with a white ribbon. Shoddy really!!

Other guests rooms varied greatly, leaving us feeling that we had been pretty lucky. All in all, the wedding was great and the food was good. In terms of your room, it may be a lucky dip approach.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at Sporting Lodge, Middlesbrough.

I am glad that the team at the Hotel were able to provide you with a bedroom as quickly as they could after your arrival and that you were happy with the room in which you were allocated.

With regards to the room in which the Bride and Groom were allocated, I can only apologise for the way in which the 'Bridal Suite' was presented to them and I have addressed this with the team.

We are gradually updating the bedrooms with new Windows, Carpets and Curtains and as you can imagine this is a costly process and something that will take time to fully complete.

I do however hope that you will return to the Sporting Lodge in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sporting Lodge and felt it was excellent value for money. The staff are friendly, and eager to please the guests. I enjoyed room service in a very comfortable room with an excellent bathroom where I could relax in a hot bath. The food was good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 117AnneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade W, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your comments dated 15th September 2013

It is so nice to read you had such an enjoyable stay at the Sporting Lodge Inn and that the team were able to make this such a good stay for you.

I will certainly be passing on your positive comments to the rest of the team here at the Sporting Lodge Inn.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future where I am sure you will receive a just as warm and friendly welcome.

Kindest Regards
Jade Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stay at the Sporting Lodge on a regular basis and i am happy to say that overall the hotel is worth the money.The facilities are excellent and the staff offer an excellent level of service,the food is of a high standard too so what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade W, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel It is always great to receive pleasant feedback and especially pleasing when guests pay compliment to good customer service as we do promote a strong customer service culture within the hotel.

The team and I do hope you will continue to visit us were you will always be welcome

Kindest Regards
Jade Wilson
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here over new year had a band it was really good the bedroom and food was really nice even the breakfast staff really helpfully,we had a great stay over,it's was not that far from where live about thirty minutes drive so there wasn't to much driving.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade W, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel and I’m so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us It is always great to receive pleasant feedback from our guests.

The team and I hope to see you back very soon for another enjoyable stay

Kindest Regards
Jade Wilson
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I was unfortunate enough to be booked in by the company my employer uses for hotel bookings. I was due to stay a week, but left after 1 night.

The wallpaper in the room was peeling at several points in the room, the plug hole in the bath was all rusty, the bed sagged when sat on or lied upon. All the furniture was damaged in some way and was from the 70's by the looks of it. The bathroom had a stale smell to it. Also the wifi was "hit & miss" as the receptionist put it. Could not get phone signal in room either. The "complimentary" pencil, not pen, was chewed at the top by a previous guest(s).

The food served at the adjacent bar grill was lovely, the staff in the grill were superb during both evening & breakfast sittings.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikety28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade W, Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for comments dated 9th Sptember 2013

We welcome all guests comments to anable us to address any concerns and I can assure you we will certainly be acting upon your recent experience.

We are presently undergoing technical advancement to improve wifi stability which will give a greater connection this will be completed by the 19th september.It is also very disappointing to hear we did not meet your expectations with your accomadation on this occasion.
I can assure you that we are still continuing with the update of our hotel we have added 5 extra brand new executive rooms we also replaced all the TV's in the bedrooms, a further 5 bedroom carpets.

Thank you for your compliments on the service and food you recived in the bar and grill we strive to offer the best customer service and are pleased you found this to be the case.

I do hope we have the oppotunity to welcome you back as I would like to think you would have a much better experience next time as you will always be welcome.

Kindest Regards
Jade Wilson
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
3.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#9 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Property: Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing