We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JOKE. "No beer"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Redcar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“JOKE. "No beer"”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Saturday before Christmas works doo upwards of 1000 people in the Sporting lodge.First round at the bar at 7pm for 18 people both bitters ran out completely !!!!! so we asked for bottles of Newcastle brown ale ,only 7 on the premises. All beer is now off. Looking around the ratio of male to female was 40% male and 1/2 approximately would be drinking beer thats at least 200 pints every round in the building. Ehh, profit out the window.Beer did come back on at 10pm too late!!!!! Now you have to pay for this , you can't run a tab even if they keep your card. The card machine works only in one bar and it takes 3 /4 goes for it to work then it went flat battery. The carvery wasn't, and the portions are small. ( fish and chips on the way home comes to mind )
The staff were apologetic and pleasant, and the service was good. Thanks for small mercies.
The management and directors of this pub/hotel need to get up to speed quickly especially with planning for these events , its not as if they did not know the numbers coming and had no advance warning . NO apologies on the night at all from senior staff.
May be ok for a small party , but don't go with a big party especially at Christmas or take your own BEER .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your attendance at a recent Christmas Party.

We did experience an issue with the John Smiths on the Saturday before Christmas, this was a technical fault, which was reported to Heineken and they duly came out and fixed it that evening. I am sorry that at the beginning of the night we were unable to dispense John Smiths, however the procedure of rectifying the issue was beyond our control. Before we change a keg of Real Ale, the beer needs to settle, it was settling when guests first arrived in to the Old Poste House, but was duly dispensed once it had completely settled.

With regards to your comments about the Carvery service. In order to ensure that guests were not left queuing for long periods of time at the Carvery, as in previous years, a decision was taken to pre-plate some of the meal to try and assist speed of service. I can only apologise for the fact that you were disappointed with this.

I hope that this experience has not permanently marred your opinion of us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    176
    179
    118
    147
See reviews for
101
181
42
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

would like to compliment all staff, excellent service, very professional, rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel is great value for money. staff made us feel welcome. food very good. aliy is a good member of your team and looks after everyone. I would recommend this hotel to my friends for any future events or just a night out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilarySimmons54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough.

I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and courteous and that you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel.

I hope that I can look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here on Saturday night smack in the middle of the christmas party season. Room was fine , clean but a little worn round the edges. Such as a light shade missing, bed was comfy enough and room was warm . The corridor carpets a a little worn also but still clean. Room was far enough away from the function suite and I didnt hear any noise at all. Not even from other guests.
I had to book in late at night and staff were pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was included in the price of £50 for a single room. However I thought £20 extra for a 2pm check out was a little pricey.
Breakfast was a buffet and it was cold, and you had to wait for more food to be cooked. It would have been better if the continental breakfast was buffet and the cooked one was served. Staff serving the breakfast were friendly and helpful continually filling up your coffee cup.
I used the leisure facilities which were good. Again just the little details which let them down. Simple things like cups for water instead of a water fountain which had rust in it, lights out in the sauna room.
I would definately use this hotel again if I was down this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough.

I am sorry to read of your comments about the Breakfast Buffet being cold on Sunday morning. All of the food is freshly cooked from the Kitchen, with the Buffet station being situated just outside the Kitchen door. I have however discussed your comments with the Head Chef to ensure that a situation such as this does not occur again in the future.

With regards to the water fountain in the Leisure Club and your preference to have cups for the fountain. The water fountain in question was replaced last week, the reason that cups are not situated with the machine is that most guests utilise it to re-fill water bottles, however this is something that I will look at.

I am glad that we were able to situate you in a room away from the event room and that you found your room comfortable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just returned after spending two nights at this Hotel...we booked a twin room because we thought it would have more space than a double (same price) and it did. Clean room, comfortable beds..ample hot water. Breakfast was plentiful....however the dining/eating area is DARK...a table by a window is advised for breakfast...but it did not spoil our stay...and we would use it again for its' convenient position for our needs.

Room Tip: Ground floor....away from function room...twin rather than double
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the room spacious, clean and the beds comfortable. The lighting in the dining areas has been reviewed, with candles being utilised at night and more powerful bulbs being used in the wall and ceiling lights.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel gives value for money. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Even though very busy they remained calm and helpful Rooms were clean and food adequate and the beds very comfortable

A clock in the bedrooms would be an improvement and the corridor floor/ carpet to the downstairs rooms needs some attention.

For an hotel to cater for such large numbers it did very well

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleinetarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay here at the Hotel and will pass on your gratitude to the team. I have taken your comments on board with regards to the Corridors and will consider your suggestion of a clock in the bedrooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Spent 2 nights. The room lobby light was reported on arrival and took 60hours to be replaced.
The bathroom extractor never worked and the bedroom lights were poor. However at the Poste
House Bar and Restaurant a torch was necessary. Just pools of light, not over the tables- very
dreary. Food good. Dinner service erratic and buffet breakfast reception, service and ambience
shows promise for a Carry On film.
Spa was okay, floors should be bladed more frequently-pools of water and dangerous.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Tripadvisor about your stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough.

I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your stay with specific regard to Housekeeping and Maintenance. There is a procedure in place whereby all Maintenance issues, including light bulbs are reported through the front office system and I am sorry that this was not the case during your stay at the Hotel. The lighting in both the Old Poste House Bar and Grill and the extension of the Restaurant have been reviewed, with candles being used during the evening and more powerful bulbs utilised in the lights in these areas. I am sorry that you found that the extractor in your bathroom was not working, I have requested that this is a key area that Maintenance look at.

I have addressed your comments about the Restaurant food service with the Operations Manager and re-training has taken place with the team.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the shortfalls in service levels you received from the team. I hope that this experience has not permanently marred your opinion of us.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The staff were really helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal. Room was clean and the bed was comfy, we had a nice view over a green field. Even though there were functions going on we were some distance from them and the room was nice and quiet.

Room Tip: We asked for a ground floor room and got one but there is only 2 floors anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Middlesbrough.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at the Hotel and that the staff were always friendly and that your request for a Ground floor room was met.

I hope that I can look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#9 of 11 in Middlesbrough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Property: Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing