We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, despite some poor reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Gloucester, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, despite some poor reviews”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find the hotel so clean and tidy, after reading some poor reviews here, which we thought very unfair. We were there for three nights, and had to order three courses of all the evening meals on the first day, so difficult to remember what we had ordered without writing it down. The only real (moderate) grumble was the organisation of the evening meal, where you had to wait at your table for starters to be delivered, then wait for plates to be cleared before going for main course, which led to big queues at the servery. An extra couple of waiting staff would have helped a lot. Staff were, though, without exception polite and helpful, even friendly.

Room Tip: We didn't get a choice, as this was part of a coach tour package, but the ones we saw were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyHawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside.

I am glad that you had a nice stay here at the Hotel as part of one of the many groups that we cater for. I am however sorry that you felt that the Restaurant service levels were not as expected. We do cater for large numbers of Coach parties and the way in which the meal was served during your stay is the same with all large groups and works well.

I hope to welcome you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    178
    190
    126
    151
See reviews for
110
188
42
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My review constantly seems to be removed for this hotel. I can only assume its due to the fact I mention bed bugs. I caught bed bugs from the terrible establishment. The rooms are old and falling apart. The decor they have chosen is of the vagrant / rubbish tip look. The general manager is an absolute joke, unprofessional to the end. I would only recommend staying here if you were looking for some sort of end of the world, apocalypse type of experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul_and_Kate007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside earlier in the year.

I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay here at the Hotel. I did discuss your comments with you personally and I believed that any issues you raised were resolved. I can only apologise if this was not the case.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

Fairlight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed there as part of a wedding package. My disabled husband had to walk long corridor to the room. Bed raiser and grab rail was not available. Potato crisp under the bed did not make a super clean impression. The service at the wedding seemed faultless. Would I stay again? Probably not!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside.

I am sorry that you did not feel that the room in which you were allocated had enough provision for your Husband. Whilst we do have a room with grab rails, we do not have any rooms with wet rooms in them.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable time at the Wedding.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The rum smells strange , probably from bathroom(urin?)
Im used to higher standards from traveling in europe.
I would like to call it a medium class hostel, not a hotel.
On the + side: hmm.. Not easy. Maybe a medium service level from staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside.

I am sorry to read that there was an unusual smell in your room that you believed to be coming from the Bathroom.

I hope that this experience has not marred your opinion of us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights as part of the weekend break package on Fri 6th / Sat 7th as I was attending a wedding nearby. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the facilities were fine - I was pleased I was able to use the gym for no extra cost. It is not the most modern hotel in the world but I thought it was good value, the room was clean and I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff to be friendly and courteous.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I can not rate this place higher!!!! We had a meal there to celebrate our wedding and they made up our table in the restaurant to reflect our colour scheme and we knew nothing about it. They did it off their own backs and it made our night!!! The service was second to none and one ov the waiters even offered to use 1 ov our cameras to take some pictures of all of us as he was a trainee photographer. They didn't have to do that however it just shows what thoughtful and caring staff they have. The whole process was so smooth it made us relax and enjoy the day. On the second night of staying there we talked to one of the managers about how happy we were with the previous evening and she even came over with 2 free glasses of champagne in acknowledgment of me and my husband getting married. That to me is an amazing service. The room was lovely and any thing that we wanted the staff were only too happy to help with. For the breakfasts on both mornings (we stayed 2 nights) there was a very nice selection of different food and the staff were very friendly and did their job with a smile. It was so nice to see. They were so helpful. We have come away feeling so relaxed and refreshed. Thank you so much for making me and my husbands day complete.

Mr and Mrs Steven and Danielle Oliver

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside.

I am glad to read of your comments about the meal and service on Friday evening and the finishing touches of the glass of Champagne given to you on Saturday evening. I will pass on your gratitude to the staff and I thank you for your kind words.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Do not stay at the hotel if you require access to the internet as an essential part of your visit to the area. I stayed here on 3 separate occasions for business as hotel was in the right arae and each time there was either NO or intermittent access to the internet in my room. Their response was 'we are dealing with it" yes we know its a problem, sorry or you can go to the bar area which is on a different server!!! In addition telephone reception is also poor.... so if you do not need to use your mobile or lap top then the hotel itself is fairly basic and in need of a major refurb but hey you do have access to the gym and pool!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise W, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on Trip Advisor about the issues that you have experienced during your recent stays here at the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside.

I can only apologise for the reduced Wifi service levels that you have received in your room over recent weeks. The issues that we have experienced have been raised to the highest level with our service provider and they have completed various diagnostics checks to the system to endeavour to iron out the issues. Unfortunately we had an electrical failure last week which meant that we lost internet for the evening and again I can only apologise. This is a key area of importance for our guests and is something that we are keeping on top of to ensure consistency going forward.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the lack of internet access. I do hope that this experience has not permanently marred your opinion of us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sporting Lodge Inn, Teesside again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
112 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
0.9 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#9 of 11 in Middlesbrough
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#10 of 11 in Middlesbrough
231 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
384 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Property: Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing