We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality and management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We stayed for one night and a noisy party in the room below ours kept us awake until 6.00am. We tried to contact a member of staff to cmplain but there was no reply on the several occasions we tried. Prior to this we were unable to book a meal until 9.30pm because there was a 'coach party' in. In addition there was a 'ladies night' party including male strippers in the function room (not our cup of tea!). We spoke to a receptionist on check-out and were unable to complain to the duty manager because there wasn't one on as he was sick. We are still awaiting a call from him to lodge our complaint! Beside this the rooms as previously describe are very small and the accommodation section dated. The bar and swimming pool areas are new and well appointed but are let down by the management and quality of accommodation - not good for an overnight stay!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamhanway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2006

Very Dissapointed with this hotel, the rooms are small, dated and not very comfortable. Definatley not a hotel for a stay longer than one night. To make matters worse the price is a complete rip off. £75 for one night (inc breakfast). I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Keely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times before but when it was owned by holiday inn. Since sporting lodge took it over I feel the standards have slipped.

Currently there is extensive work being done on reception and they have now built a swimming pool and gym which does look really nice. There is also a new build fancy wine bar now attached to the hotel. Very nice for a relaxing drink. However, the breakfast is now also served in this bar and it is much too dark and dingy to host breakfast in, you can barely see your plate! For £7 per head, I thought the breakfast offered poor value, it was a buffet breakfast on the sunday we were there and not very tasty. One member of staff even swore under her breath when walking away when another guest asked for just tea and toast (charming!)

The rooms are fairly clean and of a good size. the beds are comfy and the curtains nice and thick. a lot of our group said they woke up very hot in the night and struggled to open the windows.

There was a large 80's party being held in the function room when we were there. Our room was some distance from this party so we were unaffected but I imagine people with rooms closer to the function room would have had problems sleeping!

My family live nearby so I will use the hotel again but I feel it is nothing to write home about anymore (bring back holiday inn!) and I wouldn't really want to stay for more than one night in a row.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babyfor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimazzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EMT_0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank Giovanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
168 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#10 of 11 in Middlesbrough
187 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Middlesbrough
Travelodge Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
398 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Address: Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporting Lodge Inn Middlesbrough Hotel Middlesbrough
Sporting Hotel Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Sporting Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing