We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Bell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Bell Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

nice place great staff
breakfast ok staff very nice
bar menu very good drink prices a bit dear but good wine list
male manager very good carred bags to room for me and roon service
i only paid £50 per night rooms very clean and tidy would definately stay here again

Room Tip: stay at the weekend great bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    41
    24
    21
See reviews for
29
38
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

stopped for 1 night in April for a wedding . rooms nice & clean ,with every thing you need
kettle ,tv .iron ect.
staff here & at the pub friendly & attentive,
had drinks in the pub & other members of our party had meals ,
everything fine
Would definitely stay again if in Middlesbro .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at the Bluebell whilst visiting family and found it a very enjoyable stay. Having paid only £45 per night I thought it was very good value for money. Our rooms were clean and had everything we needed, food was very nice (both evening meal in the pub and breakfast) and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definately recommend and would definately stay again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This joke of a pub is disgusting, Dirty & Filthy, waited over 5 mins to be served to be told no cask beers are on, (Also some other larger's and beers not available) there was over a half hour wait for food, whilst waiting, went to the toilet and I was speechless, took some pics of the toilets as I could not believe a pub charging well over £3 a pint has so run down filthy toilets. Got a refund on the food, as god knows what the kitchens are like, however I will never find out as I would not tread in the slum again, If this was privately owned, it would close down in no time. WEDDING'S WHAT A JOKE

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room, book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappy907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

Tiverton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

The staff were OK, rooms were passable and clean. Food was cheapest from Tesco and very bland but nicely cooked. Premises/restaurant very basic but OK. it is a budget hotel after all.

There was no information in the room. Phone to reception didn't work, free WiFi didn't work. Beds were so uncomfortable that we both got up in the night several times and could hardly get out of bed for aching. Also the radiator was off but it was so hot all night that we couldn't sleep without opening the window for half an hour (it was that hot) then we had to shut the window because of the early traffic (4am). Al in all we went to bed at 10.30, got up at, 1am, 2.30am, 3.30am, had a cup of tea while the room cooled down, slept for an hour then got up to close the window and stretch our backs.... Nightmare (wish I had had enough sleep to have a nightmare).

And there was the friendly laminated note saying the hotel would charge you £150 on your credit card (after you had left) if they thought you had been smoking in the room, or found evidence of it. Even non-smokers like us thought that was a bit off.

DON'T GO

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed just one night at the Blue Bell on an Internet deal, only £35.00 a night. You get what you pay for but, the Blue Bell is well worth it. The rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable and unlike some higher rated hotels, the Blue bell offers both a bath and a shower and the all important tea/coffee facilities and biscuits.The staff are friendly and the pub/restaurant serve a very good choice of food and drink at very reasonable prices. We also found the room heating excellent, you had instant control on how hot or cold you wanted it could not fault the whole stay. Well done

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0ny1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed here for one night, reception staff pleasant, corridors a little tired but rooms nice, recently refurbished, a real joy a full sized bath to relax in !!.

Breakfast was speedily served by nice staff , good quality so all things considered this was a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephens89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.9 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Property: Blue Bell Lodge
Address: Acklam Road | Tees Valley, Middlesbrough TS5 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing