We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Blue Bell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Bell Lodge
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night the place is massive there a bar the rooms at the back and a big car park no charge out door area everything you need we had a carvery on Sunday it was amazing and a few drinks the staff are so friendly from reception bar cleaners and a lovely young girl on the breakfast I would stay here again with out a doubt 45 pound no breakfast 55 with and it was really big and very nice :) x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank makem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here recently found it to be a lovely hotel. Paid £45 for the room and pre-booked breakfast at reception on checkin. Rooms are clean and tidy, beds lovely and comfy, bathrooms very clean. We were in Middlesbrough for a family occasion and bar was even open when we returned for a drink which we took to our room. Breakfast in the morning was lovely not at all greasy, plenty of choice of cereals, bread, juice and several cooked breakfast options. Brilliant service from the young waitress. Reception were friendly both on check in and check out. Would defanitly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cakes7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding reception down the road. Rooms extremely shabby. Mould around the bath, shower curtain absolutely manky. Mould on the walls below the wash bottle supplied over the bath.
For £50 a night you would expect decent coffee satchets like Nescafe or Kenco or similar. Not a bit of it, cheap and nasty crap satchets.
We arrived back from the wedding reception around 11.45pm to find the bar closed, not a problem in itself, we didnt want a alcoholic drink. We asked for some mineral water to take back to the room, to be told sorry the tills are all closed up so we cant sell you any. So we then asked for a glass of tap water, to be told again, sorry the tills are all closed up.....they wanted to charge for tap water????? We were then told we couldnt give it to you anyway as you are not allowed to take glasses back to the rooms. We had to go to the garage across the road to buy some mineral water. (Probably cheaper anyway!!)
And so to breakfast in the morning. Full english.....absolutely delicious....if you like your dry sausages and bacon swimming in oil. Deep fried Hash browns, just tasted of oil! Half a fried tomato....and NO BEANS.......Who the hell serves a FULL ENGLISH without beans......
Went to check out and was asked by the receptionist if our stay had been ok. I told her, very politely, that I wasnt happy about our stay and explained the above. NOT EVEN AN APOLOGY. All she was interested in was getting my money. Absolutely disgusted with this hotel. Certainly not worth £50 a night. Stay somewhere else if you can.....this place isnt worth the money for the rooms or service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcooney631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've stayed at the Blue Bell Lodge in 2012 and decided to give it another go because of the location. However, time has not been kind, the room I had was decidedly shabby and dark, because of tall trees outside the window. Only one bedside light worked, there were tears in the wall paper over the bed, but most bizarrely, no bedside tables. I could see from the marks on the floor they had been there once, and as the bed was quite high, it meant that cups of tea, books etc could only be reached by leaning right out of bed, not an ideal situation.

Breakfast is very good, cooked to order rather than the less appealing practice of putting everything under lights and having to serve yourself. Staff in the restaurant are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This place really knows how to take customers for granted ,try going there on a Sunday lunch time if you enjoy standing at the bar and not being served or perhaps you enjoy wine but find it difficult to make a choice , no problem , no choice , hopeless management , understaffed what an embarrassment

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 56vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The staff were lovely and helpful. The room was small but adequate and quite clean apart from the giant burn mark in the bath! The bed was small and uncomfortable. The pub played loud music until 12pm. This hotel was only chosen for it's location. Perhaps slightly overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurseynursey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Had another nice stay
Stayed hear many times and I would like to think the new managers who have been there 18months so not that new
Are trying to move the blue bell forward so keep up the good work
Don't know what the last review has got to do with a hotel
And the singer is about 90 and not that good watch her once in the ap bar
If your there and she on stay in main bar

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.1 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
2.1 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#9 of 11 in Middlesbrough
245 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Address: Acklam Road | Tees Valley, Middlesbrough TS5 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £48 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing