We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but poor quality”
Review of Blue Bell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Bell Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good location but poor quality”
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Expensive for a small and dated room. Clean bathroom. Garbage on the ground outside. Food quality and quantity was poor. Breakfast was adequate but the continental breakfast was lacking in items. A good location is probably the best feature.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex_boro_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    46
    41
    25
    21
See reviews for
30
38
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

To be honest I didn't expect much as it was a cheap room but was I very pleasantly surprised! A very comfortable room, good location and the staff were very friendly. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexnPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Three of us stayed here whilst on business in M'boro, for one night this week (July '09). This hotel was attached to a fairly decent pub and had ample car parking spaces. It was also in a relatively quiet area and was easy to find from the nearby A19.
The rooms, although clean, were extremely tired in terms of decor. The doors seemed quite flimsy, with the handle to my bathroom hanging off. You couldn't double lock the front door from the inside.
The bathroom was again fairly tired, having blue 'wipe clean' panelling instead of tiles. My colleague had a hole in the wall in his bathroom where somebody had put their fist through.
Breakfast was fairly basic; the included continental option comprised of toast, cereal, Tea or Coffee and a selection of juices.
The staff were very pleasant, both in the bar and at the reception in the hotel.

We paid £55 for B&B, which wan't too bad in terms of cost. However, if the local Travelodges and Premier Inns were a similar price, then this wouldn't represent good value at all as it falls well below the standard expected at those hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glencdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2009

used this as an emergency stay after my other hotel had a fire, my friend (manystaysaway) told me about it, we work in the same petrochemical business.
this hotel is best desribed in a basic way,
friendly staff, good grub, nice pub, brilliant transport links, basic but clean rooms, nice atmosphere, yes it is basic and yes it is very cheap, was brilliant for the two nights i was there, happy to recomend this to all for short stays or just a work base station, not the hilton but for the money you could not find better anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank placidmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I was recommended this hotel by a business contact whom I was visiting to run a social media training programme for. At only £45 for the night (a Sunday night), I didn't have high expectations, just hoped it would fare well enough against, for example, a Travelodge. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and modern enough, with hairdryer, iron, ironing board, TV and tea/coffee making faciities. I managed to access the hotel wifi without any problems, so could get on with my work, and I had an excellent night's sleep. In the morning I decided to take breakfast. The breakfast room only had one other person dining so it lacked a little soul, but I was impressed with my poached eggs on toast. £4.50 for eggs on toast, as much additional toast, cereal, juice and tea as I wanted - bargain!

Only real downside was that the bathroom looked a little tired and the towels could have been a little flufflier - but for the price, I think this place exceeded my expectations.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Bathroom needs modernising
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

We were directed to this hotel by a work colleague.
The hotel essentially is a pub which has had an annex built to the rear.
The ‘hotel’ was being refurbished at the time I stayed there, the main restaurant and main bar area was not open.
This refurbishment sadly was not being extended to the residential side / hotel rooms.
The rooms are very small and tired and need of a revamp. Cleanliness is not what it should be throughout this hotel and this was topped off by dirty crockery at breakfast.
As mentioned by others, Wifi is very patchy and just could not be found in my room. The fire alarm went off about 3 times throughout the night. This hotel is ok for those on very tight budgets but if you are on a tour, visiting holiday etc.. I would recommend spending a little more and getting something better.
I myself will certainly not be stopping at this hotel again, Middlesbrough and the surrounding area has more to offer than this.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nocky_reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

i was due to stay at another hotel nearby (sporting lodge) but the hotel was dreadful, the only one thing that that was any good was the srvice from the night porter who apparently used to work at the blue bell (french name, i forget now) due to problems at the lodge he arranged in no time at all to have us sent to the blue bell.
very simpily its cheap and basic but clean and the food is great the staff also are great and very helpful. it has no stars rating yet it deserves at least two. thanks to the night porter at the sporting lodge we had quite a pleasant business trip and thank you blue bell for making us welcome.
one critisism tho. the lift is ancient if not a little scary but other than that, cheap yet very cheerful.
I wil overlook many other higher rated hotels and atay here again, on the condition they get wifi tho as this is a neccesity for me

  • Liked — pretty much everything
  • Disliked — no wifi and scary lift
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank manystaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.9 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Property: Blue Bell Lodge
Address: Acklam Road | Tees Valley, Middlesbrough TS5 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing