We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
15
15
24
14
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
15
24
14
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Visited on Sunday with friend the restaurant is dates and in need of some of some refurbishment rooms very un-organised
Very messy restaurant and now proper menus that put us of out ordering puds and more drink the carvery deck was ok metal late In gravy was to told to hold though and using the same knife and fall for all the meet meant on of out guys could eat as she can’t have any contact with red meat but for us who could it it was well seasons and we loved every mouth full from start to finish just like been at you nanny’s for a good home cooked dinner we can’t stay more that 5 stars for the dinner would not say in is suitable for people with allergenic or vegetarians

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank David Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Good morning,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are grateful for all comments good and bad and will be looking into the issues you have raised.

I do apologise for the issue with the carver and your friends allergy this is something we will be discussing and looking to rectify as soon as possible.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

The positives first, which are the room was reasonably clean and the bed reasonably comfortable, other than the fact that the bottom sheet didn’t properly fit the bed.

The room was quite dark, and one of the few lights there were, wasn’t working, which I mentioned, but wasn’t mended.

The first morning, the toilet didn’t flush, which was most unpleasant, nut this was mended by the time I returned.

The breakfast was a buffet, but was cheap tasteless produce, cooked in too much oil, and although I didn’t want too much of it, the plates were the size of large side plates, which clearly shows the hotel doesn’t want patrons to take too much - pathetic

The hotel wasn’t even that cheap, therefore I’ll be avoiding it in the future

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all comments good and bad.

We do apologise that some of your lights in your room weren't working, in some of our rooms unfortunately it isn't as simple as changing a light bulb. We have to get an electrician out to change them for us, if this wasn't the case with your room then we do apologise as this should of been rectified when mentioned to our staff.

Our breakfast as you mentioned is a buffet breakfast, so regardless of the size of the plates you can go back as many times as you would like helping yourself to as much as you'd like, so I do assure you it isn't the case of 'we don't want our guests to take too much' Id like to apologise also that you felt it was cooked in too much oil, if mentioned to our staff they would of been more than happy to make some fresh items for you.

We are sorry to hear that you wouldn't consider staying with us again.

Kind regards
The Blue Bell Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Ok so it’s a bit unorganised and packed with very little organisation but the food was always ok. £20.00 for 2 carvery’s and a couple of glasses of coke so you don’t expect Michelin stars.
We’d not been in a while but today we thought we’d give it a try.
I’m sorry to say it’s gone right back, the food isn’t great either now as well as everything else.
Turnip watery, cabbage watery, gravy watery, lumpy mash and mushy broccoli.
It was tasteless.
Apart from the food the staff aren’t the happiest of people.
There’s a sign on the bar stating that due to social media All staff have to leave personalities and senses of humour at home. They certainly done that.
This place used to be packed out. Not many in today and you can see why.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlueBellAcklam, Public Relations Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi there,

Sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit here with us at the blue bell
We apologies about the food and we wish that you let us know whilst you were here so that we could have rectified the issue
The notice on the bar was intended to be humorous however if this didn't come across as this we apologies for this I was working on Sunday and it wasn't the coolest of days inside or outside the building and this was why many of the staff may not have been their chirpy happy selves like we usually are!
Again apologies for your experience and we take any notes left in these reviews and try to rectify them for next time and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Our room was nice and clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, would definatley recommend! We had the food which was really tasty and they also have a big beer garden if you just fancy a drink in the sun

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We had the weekend off so decided to go Middlesbrough to see my partner s family as per usual we stopped at the bluebell.as we arrived there was a crazy thunderstorm. We got to the bar ready to order food and have a beer,within minutes of us looking at the menu the power went off caused by the storm.The staff in the bar handled the situation amazingly as the bar was very full being a Friday night.it was found out that the power was going to be off for at least an hour and a half,so rightfully they decided to close which ment we had get some food from somewhere else which wasn't a problem as it was nobody's fault the power had gone off.my partner walked down to a local chippy to get parmos. While he was away I asked the supervisor chap if we could eat the food in the bar ( thinking it would be ok as at the time the bar was closed and the bar had emergency lighting in) but he insisted that we had to take the food to our room ( which was in darkness) so we ended up eating in the corridor out side our room as too had emergency lighting. Other than that our stay was good as usual all the staff are always willing to help. The food was good and well priced and the Sunday lunch is to die for .The room was clean and well presented.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank melt1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Good morning

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We are very glad to hear you felt our staff handled the situation with the power cut 'amazingly' and that they are 'always willing to help'.

We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our Sunday lunch and felt that your room was clean and well presented.

We are sorry to hear however that you had to eat your meal on the corridor, it does go against our policies to allow guests to bring outside food into our bar/restaurant area. But under circumstances such as this we would of been more than willing to allow it, so we will be speaking to the manager that was on shift at the time to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We hope this does not deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews