We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel, Fab Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Bell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Bell Lodge
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Hotel, Fab Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We have recently spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel, staff were friendly, breakfast was great what more can i say. I would recomend this hotel, I will be booking again in a few months. I personally think the hotel deserves a 3 star rating.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrywelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    41
    24
    21
See reviews for
29
38
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banglerdesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

we stayed for New Years Eve the room was very clean the staff were very helpful apart from the head waiter who thought he was a cut above the guests i watched him slagging guest off to other members of staff a few times as the night went on totally unprofessional he should be put in is place and remember that he is there to serve and look after the guests and not comment at every opportunity he seemed fit to do so,
The food was very sub standard the evening meal was some thing straight out of a packet
instant mash packet roast potatoes the chef needs to expand is mind and stop reading off frozen packets and start serving proper home cooked food i have stayed in many hotels and believe me this chef would not last 5 minutes it is a easy cop out to get frozen cheap and cheerful food and serve to the guests who were worse the wear for drink a few commented on how sub-standard the food was,the breakfast was shocking
we had cornflakes and fresh juice which you cannot judge on but the fried breakfast what followed looked if the chef had cremated the sausages ash brown ok eggs half cooked 1 large mushroom well over cooked bacon was cooked ok but was terrible the taste was not what i have tasted before the bread was left in packet with sell buy date passed must buy in bulk and freeze it then defrost and hope nobody will notice, overall room was clean the bulk of staff were helpful apart from head waiter and chef for reasons mentioned above room dated towels were clean but very old it was like getting dried with a sheet of sand paper i did notice a couple of foot long dark brown hairs stuck to my feet when i showered and stood on bathroom floor definitely not mine or the wife's would i stop again no until the above is amended and put right.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorMeldew030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middlesbrough hotels

East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

This place costs around £40 for a double room so it's unrealistic to expect a palace. But if offers clean, well equipped (if small) rooms, good showers, friendly service and free wifi.

The food in the adjoining pub is basic (in a 'two meals for seven quid' way), but does the job. Beers are all electric pump rather than handpull, but the Guinness was pretty good.

Personally, I'd much rather stay here than in a soulless Travelodge or Premier Inn and if I'm returning to Middlesbrough for a night I'll be booking in.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glider_music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

The Blue Bell Lodge was in a really convenient location which was easy to find. All of the staff were really nice & friendly. They were helpful whenever I needed anything. The room wasn't terribly large, but it suited my purposes & the bed was nice and comfy. I was surprised at how large the en-suite bathroom was - very spacious and clean. The water pressure was really good and the water stayed hot - which is something that i've run into problems with at other places that i've stayed. They also kept me stocked up with shortbread :) I stayed there for seven nights and made full use of the free wi-fi which i never had a problem getting connected to during my entire visit. Just make sure you get the passcode from the reception when you check in. I only had one meal at the pub and it was good with friendly service. I would definitely recommend staying there & will stay there again when i visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Expensive for a small and dated room. Clean bathroom. Garbage on the ground outside. Food quality and quantity was poor. Breakfast was adequate but the continental breakfast was lacking in items. A good location is probably the best feature.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ex_boro_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

To be honest I didn't expect much as it was a cheap room but was I very pleasantly surprised! A very comfortable room, good location and the staff were very friendly. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexnPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Three of us stayed here whilst on business in M'boro, for one night this week (July '09). This hotel was attached to a fairly decent pub and had ample car parking spaces. It was also in a relatively quiet area and was easy to find from the nearby A19.
The rooms, although clean, were extremely tired in terms of decor. The doors seemed quite flimsy, with the handle to my bathroom hanging off. You couldn't double lock the front door from the inside.
The bathroom was again fairly tired, having blue 'wipe clean' panelling instead of tiles. My colleague had a hole in the wall in his bathroom where somebody had put their fist through.
Breakfast was fairly basic; the included continental option comprised of toast, cereal, Tea or Coffee and a selection of juices.
The staff were very pleasant, both in the bar and at the reception in the hotel.

We paid £55 for B&B, which wan't too bad in terms of cost. However, if the local Travelodges and Premier Inns were a similar price, then this wouldn't represent good value at all as it falls well below the standard expected at those hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glencdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
0.9 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
2.8 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Property: Blue Bell Lodge
Address: Acklam Road | Tees Valley, Middlesbrough TS5 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing