We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“let down by service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Treebridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Treebridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“let down by service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My fiance and I made an appointment to speak to the wedding coordinator to be shown around and chat about how they can make our wedding day special. We arrived on time only to be abruptly spoken to at the reception and the lady we were to see abrupty stated for us to wait in the bar, not knowing the hotel we walked through to find ourselves stood akwardly in the middle of that days diners. After waiting 5mins and we at that point were considering leaving she came through. She rushed us through to find a seat and then just before sitting down to talk figures finally asked if we would like to look at the room etc. She took us through and the room wasn't dressed or even set out for us to see how the room would be set out. Failing that she could have described how the room will be set out especially for the civil ceremony part as I couldnt see how I would walk in from the rear without being seen by all before walking the aisle.
After this we sat and went through details. The evening buffet I was told would be in the foyer which is the walkway into the toilets ,,, who on earth would serve food near toilet doors? I could go on but to be honest my fiance and I will NOT be booking our wedding there due to the very poor customer service and made to feel we are just on a conveyer belt of weddings and money coming in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gillys74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treebridgehotel, Owner at The Treebridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I am extremely disappointed to read your comments and my wedding coordinator is extremely upset by the comments made as she feels at no point during your meeting did you indicate any concerns or disapproval about any off the matters discussed.
We are unable to dress the Roseberry Suite as a full wedding venue due to the room been used almost daily for a range of function including funerals & conferences, this is why we show a selection of photographs showing the room set & dressed in different styles.
The function manger did explain fully the layout of the civil ceremony which I feel perhaps has been misunderstood.
The evening buffet is normally served from the Roseberry Suite itself however there is the option for the food to be served from the foyer if requested but this totally the choice of the bride & groom.
We hold multiple functions at the Treebridge and we pride ourselves on the care given to each individual wedding or function and our overall professional service in general. we feel this is recognised by the volume of functions booked yearly several by repeat families.
I do feel this review could have been dealt with on a personal level if you had contacted me direct with your concerns I would have been happy to discuss them in person with you.
We wish you luck in your forthcoming nuptials and hope you find a suitable venue that meets your requirements

Craig Beadnall
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    97
    50
    26
    18
See reviews for
116
75
Solo
0
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

It's been years since we last ate in the Treebridge restaurant. We decied to go along for Sunday lunch. Restaurant and bar looks nice and decorated tastefully, very clean. Staff were welcoming and efficient, friendly and what you would expect. The menu was a 2 course or 3 course selection, set price, slightly over priced for the quality of food received. I had mushroom starter, excellent, the lamb kebab though my son had came covered in sour cream, no mention of this in the menu, would have been better to have the sauces separate, also bought in and not made on the premises, just warmed up! husbands soup was delicious he said. My score for this restaurant of average is because the Sunday lunch of 3 meats (£2 extra) was disappointing. The beef and pork were obviously out of a packet, it was certainly not cooked in the restaurant. The chicken breast, came as a third of a chicken breast, still with the black veins on the bottom and the grizzle still attached. This should have been sliced and placed on the plate. I was really surprised for the plate to come with the meats, roasties, parsnips and yorkshire pudding already covered in gravy! since when do good restaurants do this, who would think to ask the waiter how will it be brought to the table. The vegetables and mashed potato came separate and tasted good. If this is Sunday dinner at its best. I feel embarassed. Perhaps the waiting staff could ask how you would like your dinner served and most importantly, they should cook, carve and serve their own Sunday meats. The sliver of beef and pork tasted salty, edible if you are hungry or dont know better, just ok, it's processed meat a very big let down. I will certainly try this restaurant again on an evening, as it has a good ambience, but we will continue to go to the Toby Carvery from now on for Sunday lunches, cheaper and more tasty. Pity.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqBMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treebridgehotel, Manager at The Treebridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. First I would like to make a few points regarding your comments that I strongly disagree with. All of our meat is bought in fresh on a daily basis from Country Valley foods, a well renowned local butcher who we have a used for 20 years. You are the first customer who has ever said you think we use pre cooked meat out of a packet - this is totally wrong and quite amusing that you would think that. The Treebridge is very popular on a Sunday and always has been as our customers know we only use fresh produce that is locally sourced whenever we can. We have served our lunches with the parsnips, roast potatoes and home-made yorkshire puddings on the plate since we opened 24 years ago. Our customers have always been happy with this and our bookings on a Sunday reflect this. If your personal preference is a Toby Carvery the fresh, home cooked food at Treebridge is obviously not to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on Saturday 15th February for the Valentine night. We were given the Ash bedroom which was beautifully furnished, with plentiful tea/coffee biscuits etc. Also an iron and ironing board which was a nice touch. Toiletries were provided including sewing set and shoe polisher (which my husband found very useful!)
We had a drink in the bar area (very reasonable rates) before going for our evening meal. Everything about the meal was outstanding. The complimentary drink was lovely, we chose the anti pasti for starters and it was delicious especially the different breads which accompanied it. The steak we both had was done to perfection and the vegetables were superb. Desserts were passion fruit cheesecake which looked very appetising and my husband assured me it was full of flavour and very refreshing. The chocolate mousse with home made cookies was superb and a chocolate lovers delight! I was even given a red rose at the end of the meal.
We went back to the bar for a nightcap after our meal and the staff were really friendly and hard working.
An excellent stay all round and would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to stay in the area. It is ideally located for trips to Great Ayton and the surrounding countryside. An absolute gem!

Room Tip: The Ash is light and airy as it has windows on two sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treebridgehotel, Manager at The Treebridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel & Restaurant. We do our up most to keep our high standards and it is much appreciated when this is recognised.
We hope to see you again soon at the Treebridge
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just thought wouldn't write a short review on the meal we had last night. One of the set menu meals I have ever had, excellent choice and a beautiful meal. The service was second to none even though it was extemely busy with plenty of staff on and could not be more helpful. I think sometimes it is nice to hear positive comments rather than negatives.
Thankyou Treebridge once again for a lovely meal and a all round lovely night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
treebridgehotel, Manager at The Treebridge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel & Restaurant. We do our up most to keep our high standards and it is much appreciated when this is recognised.
We hope to see you again soon at the Treebridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Three of us called in for lunch, for a Tuesday it was unexpectedly busy.
We all chose different main courses and sweets. Food was good and didn't take too long to arrive. We felt it wasn't too expensive at £10.95 for 2 courses. Would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Patacake49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 24/1/14. Booked as a surprise for our 2nd anniversary. Booked the package for £125 dinner bed and breakfast +wine Room was nice and modern and seemed recently decorated. Bathroom not great but ok. Stayed in maple room. Food was beautiful form the 'weekend special' menu. Plenty to choose from. Both had potato skins for starters, sirloin for main and cheesecake for desert. All lovely plus bottle of house wine included. Breakfast was nice too cereal, toast, and order from menu. We had full English and was again beautiful. Would highly recommend a meal/stay here. Thanks treebridge.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_emma_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

although living close to this hotel we have never been in for a meal but decided recently to give it a try. From the moment we entered we were given first rate service. We had the 2 course meal at £11.95, my wife having the roast beef and I had the scampi both followed with cheesecake. The service was fast and the food was presented well. We both agreed that for the price it was really good value and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
6.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
4.5 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Treebridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Treebridge Hotel

Property: The Treebridge Hotel
Address: Stokesley Road | Old Nunthorpe Village, Middlesbrough TS7 0NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Middlesbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Treebridge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Treebridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treebridge Hotel Middlesbrough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing