We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Great Owner”

The Grey House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlesbrough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grey House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Middlesbrough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Booked a family room for 3 adults and 1 child for a one night stay to attend a family christening. On arrival at Grey House Hotel, greeted by Janna, who showed us around the beautiful downstairs lounges, with free computer use and newspapers and breakfast room and informed us free cold bottled water and fresh fruit available all day and night. Free wi-fi in all rooms. Our room was spacious even though it had two single beds as well as a four poster, with two armchairs, dressing table with stool, large wardrobe and chest of drawers, tv, radio/alarm clock and tea/coffee facilities and en suite bathroom (shower). Janna enquired whether we needed a cot instead of a bed for our grandaughter as it would be no trouble to arrange. The breakfast choice was lovely and english breakfast is cooked to order. When booking this hotel on line, we said grandaughter could only have soya milk, when we went to breakfast Janna brought in soya milk and also asked if she could use it for her scrambled eggs, without any reminder. Grey House is in a quiet, lovely leafy residential area, on outskirts of Middlesbrough. If you are looking for impersonal minimalism, this lovely, friendly, old style hotel, with young owners, is not for you. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolLovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for The Grey House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

A lovely stay. great area, room, host and food, the breakfast was spectacular, will definately be staying again when we go up to visit our daughter and was dog friendly, able to walk into the town for a meal

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grey House Hotel recently as we were meeting up with family and the hotel was ideally situated for this visit. We had a lovely stay, unfortunately we did not check in to the hotel until 9.45 on the evening of our arrival so did not manage to spend much time there as we were to be up and off the next morning to head for Harrogate. We had a nice welcome, our room was lovely, warm and very large which made the few hours we spent there very comfortable. Good hot shower and the breakfast the next morning was very good. We would recommend the hotel and would return again if we are ever in the area. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueStokenchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed several nights in this hotel and enjoyed wonderful service. We were able to use the lounge like home and our room was very comfortable.I slept really well there. It is an old house and if one wanted to be picky about minor details this could be done but food and service could not be faulted.
A real plus was fresh prepared fruit and yoghurt along with cereals. The selection varied each day. The main breakfast was cooked to order and included eggs , bacon, sausages, fresh tomatoes, beans , mushrooms and toast. Tea and fresh coffee were served in generous amounts.
Chilled bottled water and apples and bananas were available to just help oneself, at any time.
There is off road parking and the hotel is conveniently situated near the main road but in a quiet area.
i would be very happy to return to this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Grey House and very much enjoyed it. The room was spacious, clean and light, with a good sized ensuite shower and toilet. The bed was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and the service very freindly. Free wifi was fast enough for browsing and emails. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here for work for a week with my colleagues. The room that i stayed is clean & spacious, free internet wifi, free bottled water and fresh fruit which you can just grab & go. The english breakfast is wonderful, keeps me full throughout winter morning. Friendly and wonderful host, Jana. Jana even helped to call a take-out delivery for our dinner. While killing our time at the living room, she gave us blankets to keep ourselves warm from the howling winter wind and allow us to use one of the rooms available to freshen up prior to our late journey to the bus station. You will certainly enjoy your stay at this small but warm hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel has to be one of the most quiet and friendly hotels that I have stayed at in a very long time! The night that I was staying, I had travelled down from Edinburgh and was tired. However I had no trouble at all getting a great nights sleep. In the morning the landlady told me that there were over 14 people in that hotel overnight! Well I never heard a sound. That might be due to a bit of good luck or it could also be down to the extremely clean and comfortable beds that they have here! I slept like a log!

The cleanliness of the rooms and bedding, along with the friendly service and great food at this hotel make it a 10 out of 10 for me! These guys are getting it right again here! Something that the bigger chain hotels are getting so very wrong! So well done to the owners.

If you need a great nights sleep at a hotel in a quiet area with nice friendly service then this is the one for you! I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart139Craft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chadwick Guesthouse
Chadwick Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Middlesbrough
92 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
2.1 mi away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey House Hotel

Address: 79 Cambridge Road | Linthorpe, Middlesbrough TS5 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £48 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing