We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly luxurious”

The Grey House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlesbrough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grey House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Middlesbrough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is one of the best places I have stayed with everything classy and full of features. It is an Edwardian building with huge rooms, four poster bed, excellent decor, spotless clean, excellent breakfast, ample parking, nice garden, very polite & helpful staff and all amenities for a comfortable stay. There is a computer with Internet free to use and plenty of place to unwind or work. Extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed one night at the Grey House Hotel near Middlesbrough on Sunday 17th March 2013. We were greeted by Janna and shown to a lovely spacious room with a four-poster. The room was clean and fresh. The hotel was quiet and homely with three lounges to choose from. Breakfast was freshly cooked with quality ingredients - probably the best I've ever been served in any hotel. Thankyou to Janna and the other young lady whose name I didn't get. Our stay was brilliant. Top marks.

Room Tip: Just book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southwood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Fantastic, what more can I say? A beautiful building, wonderful staff, excellent room, and breakfast second to none. I spent three days there last week and am looking forward to another two this week. If you ever find yourself in the area, stay here it's the best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady. She instantly made us feel welcomed as she showed us around the hotel. There are two sitting rooms for use by the guests, one containing a computer that is free to use. She took time to explain that there is free bottled water and fresh fruit for guests and showed us to the upstairs balcony where we could smoke.

After showing us to our room she told us to ask for anything we needed and told us she would be more than happy to help.

The room was lovely. We booked a room with a beautiful four poster bed which was a bargain. The bathroom was beautifully decorated and had everything we could need (even a sewing kit). After settling in we went downstairs, and the lady in charge helped us order food for delivery and made us a huge pot of filter coffee with biscuits free of charge. She also brought us trays with everything we would need for our food.

After a lovely nights sleep we went down for breakfast. There was a wide array of fresh fruits, juices and cereals to choose from whilst we waited for our breakfast to be cooked to order. I was slightly disappointed with the breakfast, my poached eggs were rubbery and tasted microwaved and I think the mushrooms were tinned however the bacon and the sausage were of good quality.

I would highly recommend staying here. It is a great little hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaLowe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights between Christmas and New year whilst visiting family. Everything about this hotel is great, wonderful period property with decor to match, but totally unstuffy. The hotel manager Janna was lovely, really friendly and could not do enough for us. The room was clean, very comfortable, breakfasts were everything we could wish for, and we will certainly return. Don't let the description of "guest house" put you off, it lacks only a bar and restaurant to distinguish it from a hotel, but it is a great hotel in every other respect. There are plenty of local pubs and restaurants if you need them, and you are given a front door key so you can come and go as you please. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Had a Great 3 night stay at this hotel, rooms were very clean and comfortable. bathroom too was very clean, with a brilliant power shower.
Breakfast in the morning was amazing, plenty of choice, endless tea and coffee, and all served by very friendly staff.
Free off road parking.
Would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasha999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Booked a family room for 3 adults and 1 child for a one night stay to attend a family christening. On arrival at Grey House Hotel, greeted by Janna, who showed us around the beautiful downstairs lounges, with free computer use and newspapers and breakfast room and informed us free cold bottled water and fresh fruit available all day and night. Free wi-fi in all rooms. Our room was spacious even though it had two single beds as well as a four poster, with two armchairs, dressing table with stool, large wardrobe and chest of drawers, tv, radio/alarm clock and tea/coffee facilities and en suite bathroom (shower). Janna enquired whether we needed a cot instead of a bed for our grandaughter as it would be no trouble to arrange. The breakfast choice was lovely and english breakfast is cooked to order. When booking this hotel on line, we said grandaughter could only have soya milk, when we went to breakfast Janna brought in soya milk and also asked if she could use it for her scrambled eggs, without any reminder. Grey House is in a quiet, lovely leafy residential area, on outskirts of Middlesbrough. If you are looking for impersonal minimalism, this lovely, friendly, old style hotel, with young owners, is not for you. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolLovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
8.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,507 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#8 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey House Hotel

Address: 79 Cambridge Road | Linthorpe, Middlesbrough TS5 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £48 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing