We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grey House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Treebridge Hotel(Middlesbrough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baltimore Hotel(Middlesbrough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Bell Hotel(Middlesbrough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longlands Hotel(Middlesbrough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield Hotel(Middlesbrough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
64
17
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
17
2
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was impressed by the building and garden and I was greeted warmly. I had booked a single room but in fact it turned out to be a 'box room'. It was so small that the bed was positioned diagonally! The toilet and washbasin were on one side of the room and the shower was on the other side-it was obviously a converted cupboard. There was mould around the shower tray and the toilet and sink were old and needed replacing. The sheets were worn and had been repaired in several places and the pillows were totally unacceptable. In fact one was yellow with stains. Needless to say, I left immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank garra111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After reading the fantastic reviews we were slightly disappointed but not unhappy.
Pro's;
The 21.00 check-in is great as we used the hotel for a quick overnight stop.
Off road parking
Easy to find
Lovely building
Nice breakfast
Free fruit and water
Con's;
Bedroom No 1 had a 4 poster bed which is not very comfortable and makes a noise every time you move, hence, I got little rest.
The extractor fan in the bathroom is big enough and loud enough for a room 50 times the size but still doesn't clear the steam!
The bin hadn't been emptied and still contained the previous guests rubbish.
I am not going to give this place less than an average 3 stars as I think it would be unfair as it clearly just needs a cash injection to improve the decor and some furniture. I do apprecaite the effort being made to make it "in keeping" but for us it wasn't quite there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrendyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What an amazing hotel this is. An absolute must if you are in the area. The hotel has been restored in such a loving way and the decor and standard of the building is superb. The bedroom we stayed in was so comfy and to such a high standard with wonderful en-suite facilties and a breakfast which would fill any hungry person. There were many extras, such as a hot drink served to us as soon as we came back after an evening out and comfy well stocked lounges in addition to our bedroom facilities, and such friendly staff without exception. We hope to go back again when we are in the area and absolutely recommend this as such good value. The facilities were far more than we expected and the hotel was in a quiet residential area with good parking. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Good sized room and all the staff we met were very friendly and welcoming. Large old house which has interesting décor in keeping with the house. Good size bathroom with both shower and bath. Everything clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeandJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We recommend this hotel highly, having stayed here on two or three occasions now, Jana is a wonderful host and the rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. Nice touch with free bottled water and fresh fruit in dining room anytime you want. The full english breakfast is fantastic too, everything from Fresh Fruit and cereal, yogurt to grilled sausage,bacon, eggs cooked any way you like toast and a lovely pot of tea or coffee freshly brewed.

Room Tip: Make sure you book far enough in advance so as to avoid disappointment. This hotel gets booked up pretty quickly. :)
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrydales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews