We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand the hype”

The Grey House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlesbrough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grey House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Middlesbrough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed as a family for 2 nights, the place is "charming" with lots of period furnishings and our room was lovely being Number 1, the creeky four poster! The en-suite and shower were great although it was hard to get out of the shower with the bathroom door jamming against the shower door. That being said, I would have been happy had it not being for the other "twin share room" which was like a closet with the beds pushed together to give more room, Getting into that shower required acrobatic skill! Being told by the owner to "push the beds apart" if we wished to we were surprised to find there was simply a double set of sheets etc!
The really annoying part of our stay was the constant cigarette smoke wafting from guests either smoking on their balconies with doors open or the receptacle at the front door wafting into the house. If you are a non-smoking family such as ours I would recomend that you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

In the desolate hotel wasteland that is Middlesbrough, where the Premier Inn is usually the most expensive branch/franchise outside London (rarely less than £60 even when booking 3 months in advance), the Grey House is a god-send.

Decidedly old-fashioned, it's cheap and very clean, with an excellent breakfast (although it can be a bit slow in coming).

It's not the greatest place ever, but it's the best by a long way in Middlesbrough, and you'll be best you stayed here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharmlessNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was impressed by the building and garden and I was greeted warmly. I had booked a single room but in fact it turned out to be a 'box room'. It was so small that the bed was positioned diagonally! The toilet and washbasin were on one side of the room and the shower was on the other side-it was obviously a converted cupboard. There was mould around the shower tray and the toilet and sink were old and needed replacing. The sheets were worn and had been repaired in several places and the pillows were totally unacceptable. In fact one was yellow with stains. Needless to say, I left immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank garra111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After reading the fantastic reviews we were slightly disappointed but not unhappy.
Pro's;
The 21.00 check-in is great as we used the hotel for a quick overnight stop.
Off road parking
Easy to find
Lovely building
Nice breakfast
Free fruit and water
Con's;
Bedroom No 1 had a 4 poster bed which is not very comfortable and makes a noise every time you move, hence, I got little rest.
The extractor fan in the bathroom is big enough and loud enough for a room 50 times the size but still doesn't clear the steam!
The bin hadn't been emptied and still contained the previous guests rubbish.
I am not going to give this place less than an average 3 stars as I think it would be unfair as it clearly just needs a cash injection to improve the decor and some furniture. I do apprecaite the effort being made to make it "in keeping" but for us it wasn't quite there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrendyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

What an amazing hotel this is. An absolute must if you are in the area. The hotel has been restored in such a loving way and the decor and standard of the building is superb. The bedroom we stayed in was so comfy and to such a high standard with wonderful en-suite facilties and a breakfast which would fill any hungry person. There were many extras, such as a hot drink served to us as soon as we came back after an evening out and comfy well stocked lounges in addition to our bedroom facilities, and such friendly staff without exception. We hope to go back again when we are in the area and absolutely recommend this as such good value. The facilities were far more than we expected and the hotel was in a quiet residential area with good parking. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Good sized room and all the staff we met were very friendly and welcoming. Large old house which has interesting décor in keeping with the house. Good size bathroom with both shower and bath. Everything clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeandJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We recommend this hotel highly, having stayed here on two or three occasions now, Jana is a wonderful host and the rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. Nice touch with free bottled water and fresh fruit in dining room anytime you want. The full english breakfast is fantastic too, everything from Fresh Fruit and cereal, yogurt to grilled sausage,bacon, eggs cooked any way you like toast and a lovely pot of tea or coffee freshly brewed.

Room Tip: Make sure you book far enough in advance so as to avoid disappointment. This hotel gets booked up pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merrydales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlesbrough
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
8.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,507 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#3 of 11 in Middlesbrough
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#8 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey House Hotel

Address: 79 Cambridge Road | Linthorpe, Middlesbrough TS5 5NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Middlesbrough
Price Range: £48 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing