We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”

Roast @ The Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #566 of 817 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: US$26 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent value for money in nice restaurant surroundings. A La Carte menue, good choices and well presented

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    24
    19
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top rate food and service”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We eat here at least 5 times each month , have the lunch-time carvery , and have never failed to be completely satisfied with the food , the hospitality and the service we receive , full marks !!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best carvery in this fine city”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

we eat here about five times each month, and for the price we pay they provide excellent value for money. For less than ten pounds for two carveries, and considering the good selection of vegetables on offer, we do not think this can be surpassed for value and most importantly for the level of service provided. we would mark this establishment 10/10

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It used to be good, but today.......”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've been to the restaurant at the Oaklands many times and really enjoyed my meal but today the beef was overcooked and tough, the service was very very slow, even though there were only a few customers in there eating. To crown it all, after the meal, I asked for coffee with cream and got a pot of cream that was so thick you could not pour it. I took it back and was then given lumpy cream - obviously the lot I returned diluted with water!!!! Yuk. The fella at the bar could not have been more helpful, so thank you to him - the only highlight of the meal. When I went to pay I told the lady at the till how disappointed my friend and I had been, but she wasn't interested. It will be a long time before I venture back again, and I really wish I hadn't recommended it to someone only last night!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Roast best of British !!!!”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Cauvery in the Oaklands hotel. Mouth-wateringly delicous selection of meats and veg all piping hot and a really good choice, kept my family quiet for an hour or so munching away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpencerNegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roast @ The Oaklands Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Roast @ The Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing