We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid, Dirty, smelly and well over priced!!!!!”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 8 February 2011

myself and two friend visited the central hotel to stay whilst on a night out in norwich. We are in are third yr of uni and wanted a nice little place to stay while we let our hair down a bit. When entering the room the first thing we saw was the horrible dirty walls, no heating, no blind at the bathroom window, and even dirt in the sink it was totally rank. no appoligies for the state of the room was given.

i would advise the hotel owners to update the pictures to what the rooms actually do look like and oh also beware you maybe closer to your other room guest than u thought as we were woken to a little bedroom activity above, paper thin walls spring to mind!!!!!!

Do not stay at this hotel it is over priced for what i can only describe and as a dirty smelly hostle room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flukeydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

For those travellers on a budget this is possible the best value for money accommodation in the Norwich area and you will not regret making this your place to stay.

The welcome at the Central Hotel was pleasant and efficient.

My room was very clean, in good decorative order and above all was warm and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and benefited from nice crisp clean linen. I choose to stay in a standard nom en suite room, the room did benefit from a wash basin, however the bathroom down the corridor was always clean and tidy.

The television has the basic channels; free view might be an upgrade that the hotel should consider sooner rather than later.

The hotels situation could not been better, some 2 mins walk from the mainline railway station with trains every 30 minutes to London, then some 10-15 minutes walk to the city centre and the bus station and main shopping centre, bus depart from the stop at the rail station to the centre at regular intervals for the 5 minute journey to the centre or onward to the university and the main hospital.

All in all excellent budget accommodation to which I will be definitely returning

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-MasterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Central Hotel has a nice location, three minutes walk from Norwich station with a nice view over the river and 10 minutes walk from city centre.
Friendly staff, nice clean room, standard breakfast. It is perfect for a short stay and it is good value for money.
It can get a bit noisy (traffic and noise from corridors and other rooms).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed for one night at Central Hotel Norwich as I was catching a train early the next morning. Central Hotel is 2 minutes walk away for Norwich Railway Station.
Meet by very helpful proprietor who showed me to my room, which was a single room over looking the main road and the river. Towels and tea coffee making facilities provided. Bathroom was along the corridor, very clean and tidy.
Bedroom could have a good hoover around the skirting boards, otherwise clean sheets.
Being summer I had the window open, but was woke at 0430 by Chavs walking along the main road screaming and shouting on their way home. Not good as there seemed to be a constant flow 0430ish I guess once the clubs had kicked out.
Suggest asking for a back facing room if you stay here.
I have stayed here several time before and would stay again. Its clean (ish) and ideal if your on a low budget or just want cheap and cheerful. Deffo not the place for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

stayed in room 10 which has been recently refurbished. The room was very light and airy with great views over the river opposite. Bed was clean and comfy and linen smelt fresh.
Breakfast the following morning was plentiful and very well cooked. Was a bonus being able to leave luggage there for the day whilst went around the city. Staff were top notch, very professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying there again when I return to Norwich.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandAnon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

My friend and I stayed here for one night, as we wanted to explore the city of Norwich. The location is great, right opposite the river and you can walk into the centre of town in less than 10 minutes. Along the way are plenty of bars, clubs, places to eat... a good selection. I think we were lucky that we were able to park our car right next to the B&B (with a permit, which cost £5) but there are not many places. There are car parks very close by. The room was clean & tidy, with twin beds, which were very comfortable. It had an en-suite which was very roomy and the shower was lovely & powerful, again clean & tidy. Towels, soaps, tea/coffe provided, all good. My only gripe really was the heating. When we got into the room it was cold, as the rad had been turned off but the room did warm up quickly... problem was, this heating didn't go off till 6.30 in the morning, when it should of been coming on...(couldn't turn off myself) Their heating bill must be throught the roof. The breakfast was fine but the tea (sitting in a pot, on a shelf) was cold but the lovely lady, did make us a fresh pot straight away. On leaving, the staff were very helpful with giving directions & info on the town & also allowed us to leave our car, while we went sightseeing. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PostmanPaul49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Economical, but still served a good breakfast (complementary).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewSanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
0.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
694 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: 8-9 Riverside Road, Norwich NR1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £51 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing