We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an excellent place, really top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arrandale Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“This is an excellent place, really top notch”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The lodge is extremely comfortable with 4-5 star fixtures, firings, furniture etc. lovely bathrooms and smellies!

The owners were very hospitable and accommodation. They responded quickly and usefully to emails.

Good location for the university if east anglia and not bad for the city centre.

Parking was good.

Breakfast was outstanding.

Overalls this is wonderful value for money.

One of the best places I have stayed in many years.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md564564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    15
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
81
88
45
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent just one night at Arrandale Lodge on the recommendation of our contacts in the UEA in Norwich. We were delighted with the warm welcome on arrival, with the clean and comfortable room and the excellent breakfast. The location is also ideal as access to the city centre is easy and exit to the roads/motorways is easy. We have earmarked the Arrandale Lodge for our next trip to Norwich and will pass on the tip for any friends we know visiting Norwich.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd time here and the rooms are very nice, comfy beds nice bathrooms free wifi, the hosts are friendly without pestering you which some b&b owners can do. Close to city centre great price and breakfast is fantastic
Highly recommended
Highly

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Arrandale Lodge was recommended to us and I must say we were not disappointed at all. we were given a warm welcome from Olga, who was very informative giving us plenty of ideas about where to eat out in the evening. The room we stayed in was lovely, very comfortable and immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and my Husband was even provided with gluten free bread. We stayed here when visiting our daughter who is at the university, which is a short distance away. We will definitely stay here again at a later date.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed at Arrandale Lodge for 4 weeks for a business trip to the UEA. Olga and Maurice are such warm, welcoming and helpful people. They gave me tips on restaurants, provided a microwave and fridge so I had the opportunity to have dinner in my room when I was working late, helped me with my laundry, and provided me with an umbrella when summer unexpectedly turned into autumn one day. We had a chat every day during breakfast (which is great), and also in the afternoons as my room was at the ground floor right next to the office. As I was travelling alone, this meant quite a lot to me.
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the TV and free WiFi is great as it is quite essential when you're away from home that long. I didn't experience any traffic noise, although the windows where located towards the main road.
The BB was also ideally located for me, as it is within walking distance (15 min) from both the UEA and the city centre (25 min). If you would like to take the bus instead, the stop is just nearby, and the buses are frequent. Also within walking distance (5-10 min) from convenience shops. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Choosing the Arrandale Guest Lodge for my one-night stay in Norwich turned my business trip to the University into a quite unexpected little holiday! When I arrived early after a long trip, Olga sat me down with fresh coffee on a comfortable sofa until my room (twin en suite) was ready. The room was immaculately decorated and cleaned, with all sorts of lovely extra touches, including a bathrobe. The bed was incredibly comfortable; the next morning, after a thoroughly peaceful night, I was offered a tempting range of hot and cold breakfast choices - I can highly recommend Maurice's cheese omelettes. Olga and Maurice really go out of their way to provide a thoroughly professionally managed and yet very warm and welcoming place to stay. In addition, Arrandale is ideally located - right next to the bus route between the rail station, city centre and the University, and a very pleasant 15 minute's stroll to the campus along a wide, tree-lined pavement. Really, what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRP161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed there when taking our son to university (just down the road). We had the fourposter bedroom which was just perfect for three, although the single bed would probably not suit anyone over 6ft. Safe parking in the drive. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Substantial cooked breakfast included, if wished. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#15 of 50 in Norwich
191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cringleford Guest House
Cringleford Guest House
#1 of 1 in Cringleford
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
38 St Giles Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrandale Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrandale Lodge Guest House

Property: Arrandale Lodge Guest House
Address: 431 Earlham Road, Norwich NR4 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arrandale Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you on arrival. From the moment you check-in to the time you check-out you will be looked after by us personally. Excellent hospitality and convenience whether you are visiting Norwich for business or pleasure. A variety of rooms available to suit your individual needs. All rooms in our guest house are warm, comfortable and clean and are furnished to a high standard and all feature new modern en-suites. Free 3-4 GB Fast Wireless broadband Internet facilities in all rooms Ample car parking on our premises. We are situated within walking distance of the University of East Anglia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arrandale Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrandale Lodge Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing