We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value all round”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic value all round”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Stracey, which is in a handy location near the train station and within 15 - 20 minutes walk of the central city. It is impeccably clean. The bathroom is well supplied with toiletries. There is free wi-fi in rooms and common areas. The breakfast was conventional but fine. We had no trouble finding parking on the street and the car park at the bottom of the road for long period daytime parking is reasonably priced. The Stracey Hotel is superb value for money and I will definitely try and stay there on return visits to Norwich.

Room Tip: Roads facing Stracey Road get noise from a nearby busy road and from night time activity at the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluffhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    175
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
144
46
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stay here occasionally when working in Norwich, as it is very convenient for the train station and provides an efficient and friendly service. This delivers a quiet, clean, modern service without any of the irritations of some of the larger chains. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed 9th and 10th of july and was really surprised how lovely and friendly and modern the hotel was, its small and compact but really clean and we really enjoyed it! Its not as close to the center as I thought it would be is quite a walk but would definatly stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hexandhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

A would recommend this hotel, smart / clean and helpfull staff.
The only down side - The bar is closed at 10:45pm, for such a smart bar/lounge area this appears to be an area where the hotel could cash in on very well.
On our return from a local restaurant, to be able to stop at the bar for an hour or so would have been great...im sure other residents have felt the same......A hotel bar would normally stay open for its guest at least in till 12ish..
We would consider other larger hotels close by in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany Berlin, Stuttgart
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The Stracey Hotel is definitely one of the best places to stay in Norwich. It's a beautiful old building with modern and stylish rooms inside. It's a great modern, but small city hotel with a nice Bar and terrace. Rooms can be small and during hot days a bit warm because there is no AC. But anyway: The staff are all cool young people who are very helpful and act very professionel. Very convenient location, just a five minutes walk down the road to the railway station, 10-15 minutes walk to the city center. Bus stop just in front of the Hotel. If you plan to stay for a longer time and like to explore North Norfolk or the coast by train this is the ideal place to stay. There's every hour a train to Wroxham ("the Broads", boat tours), Cromer and Sheringham. On the other side of the street you'll find an espresso and sandwich bar, an indian takeaway ("The spice of India") with great delicious food and a nice pub. Next door of the hotel is a laundry. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Just got back from an overnight stay in the Stracey, great location and a very clean and modern hotel. Excellent value for money and a hearty breakfast so set you on your way. Will defiantly be staying again. Top marks!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellbell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel is a short walk from the train station and from the shops and amenieties at Riverside and the town centre. The service at the hotel was very good, the staff were very friendly, helpful and seemed to care about the hotel as though it was a family concern.

The breakfast was really nice, I had the full English but there was ceral, pastries, toast and yogaurt avaiailable too.

I stayed in an attic room (I think it was number 20). It was small but they had made good use of the space. The sloping roofs may have caused anyone over about 5' 7" a bit of inconvenience standing up from the lav - may be they put me in that room because I'm petite. There was shampoo, shower gel, soap and body lotion in the bathroom - they were nice products to use.

The blinds did not properly fit one of the windows in the bedroom, which might cause some people to wake earlier than they might prefer. My colleague was in a room on the floor below which also had ill fitting blinds. The batteries in the television remote didn't work, which was disappointing as I like to have the news on whilst I get ready of a morning. I didn't call down to reception to ask for new batteries as I didn't feel like I had sufficient time to delay getting ready to leave. The room that I stayed in had an ensuite bathroom, the one my colleague stayed in had a wet room.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousGirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Property: Stracey Hotel
Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing