We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay and handy for the station”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A good place to stay and handy for the station”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Stracey hotel for 1 night after helping our daughter move into Uni and too tired to drive home. We arrived about 9pm and were able to park in the side street by the hotel until 10am the next morning. I think there is a public car park down the road though. We received a friendly welcome by the man on the desk - I don't know his name but he also served us breakfast in the morning. Our room (21) was on the second floor and although we would stay here again, I would definitely ask for a different room. This was a double bedded room but I think it should only be a single as there is a sloping ceiling on one side of the bed (my side) and I was terrified I was going to knock myself out on it if I got up in the night to use the bathroom and forgot it was there.. I couldn't stand up straight when at that side of the bed. The room and the en-suite shower room were small. There were plenty of drawers but no wardrobe which was ok for just one night. We had a tv and tea/coffee making facilites. The room was warm but a fan was provided. We had a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning in the dining room and you could choose what you would like from a menu. There were cereals, juice, fruit etc too. There were 2 tv's on showing the news and the sound was turned up rather loud for me first thing. This hotel is within walking distance of the train station which would be handy for some. Even though there were a couple of niggles we would stay there again as it was a nice clean hotel.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank amh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    175
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
144
46
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I stayed at the stacey with friends for a weekend get away. The hotel is great, well situated for the train and the riverside. We had two rooms which were clean and well furnished. breakfast was great and staff were very helpful. would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad90KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed at the Stracey for 3 nights and found the rooms clean, well decorated and the bathrooms excellent. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good and best of all, we had free wifi throughout the hotel. The Stracey was very good value and I will stay there again when I travel to Norwich.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofiucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Stracey, which is in a handy location near the train station and within 15 - 20 minutes walk of the central city. It is impeccably clean. The bathroom is well supplied with toiletries. There is free wi-fi in rooms and common areas. The breakfast was conventional but fine. We had no trouble finding parking on the street and the car park at the bottom of the road for long period daytime parking is reasonably priced. The Stracey Hotel is superb value for money and I will definitely try and stay there on return visits to Norwich.

Room Tip: Roads facing Stracey Road get noise from a nearby busy road and from night time activity at the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluffhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I stay here occasionally when working in Norwich, as it is very convenient for the train station and provides an efficient and friendly service. This delivers a quiet, clean, modern service without any of the irritations of some of the larger chains. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed 9th and 10th of july and was really surprised how lovely and friendly and modern the hotel was, its small and compact but really clean and we really enjoyed it! Its not as close to the center as I thought it would be is quite a walk but would definatly stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hexandhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

A would recommend this hotel, smart / clean and helpfull staff.
The only down side - The bar is closed at 10:45pm, for such a smart bar/lounge area this appears to be an area where the hotel could cash in on very well.
On our return from a local restaurant, to be able to stop at the bar for an hour or so would have been great...im sure other residents have felt the same......A hotel bar would normally stay open for its guest at least in till 12ish..
We would consider other larger hotels close by in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
135 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Property: Stracey Hotel
Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing