We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay with excellent staff”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in this very clean and comfortable hotel.
The public areas are nicely decorated .
Our room was on the first floor. It was great. Comfy bed with nice fresh linen. Loads of storage space and a fantastic bathroom with a a huge shower.
As said before located near to the station and the riverside complex of cinema restaurants and bars. A ten minute walk to the historic centre.
Must also mention the coach and horses real ale pub located opposite great for a last drink on the way back to the hotel.
There is parking for a charge a minute or two away.You can park in line with the hotel but there are time restrictions.
The staff in this hotel were outstanding. They are its biggerst asset.
Would definately stay again

Room Tip: Reading other reviews it seems rooms on the ground and first floors are better for head height
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itcyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for Stracey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

The promotional literature in the hotel describes it as "A brilliant boutique hotel in the riverside area of Norwich...". Well...... The hotel is about 300 yards from the river. However, between it and the river are the railway station, houses and a hude Royal Mail distribution centre. One side of the hotel looks out onto a main road and the other onto the vast car and lorry park of the mail centre.
I booked a double room. I was given a room on the second floor in a loft extension. It was very small and a good part of the room could not be accessed as the ceiling was so low. In fact, it was so small that there was no room for a wardrobe. Reception suggested that I hang my suits on the coathooks on the bedroom door.
The only alternative was a single room on the ground floor. It was across the hall from the bar and the corridor carried an aroma of stale beer. The room was fairly small but clean, with a small shower room and toilet. There was a very large bay window looking onto the road and the lorry park. However, the large window at street level meant that passers by could look straight in as there were no blinds or net curtains. That meant that the curtains had to be closed for any privacy.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of August with our 14 year old daughter. The hotel is ideally located, being close to the railway station, the riverside and within walking distance of the city centre. The reception we received was helpful and efficient and this continued throughout our stay. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, although one of the rooms was located in the eaves and was quite small and stuffy for a double room. This would be our only complaint as The Stracey represents excellent value for money and there was an excellent choicefor breakast. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If the weather is likely to be warm, perhaps ask to avoid the cosy attic room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I agree with the comments made by the other reviewers. A very nice comfortable hotel. I always like to be near the station and this hotel as well as being near the station also has the riverside leisure area with cinema, pubs, restaurants, riverside walks, retail park. The dining area is very pleasant and a great choice at breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The stairs are a challenge if you are upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A small hotel - almost a B&B - with nicely-appointed rooms that have been refurbished recently. We had a good-sized double room and a spacious family room.

Despite the fact that the Stracey Hotel is on a busy junction of a fairly main road, it is surprisingly quite - but make sure you close the windows!

Staff (only one) was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. She recommended a local restaurant (Thai on the River) which turned out to be an excellent choice.

I'd stay thee again

Room Tip: Choose as room on the top floor. They are smaller but quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElDromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

There is not a great deal of choice for hotels in Norwich, but the Stracey probably offers the best overall value. Perhaps not the best location - it is about a 5 minute walk from the railway station away from the city centre, and about 10/15 minute walk into the city centre (i.e. the castle or the cathedral). The hotel itself is immaculate. It has obviously only fairly recently been completely refurbished, and has a nice, almost "boutique" feel about it despite being relatively small (20 rooms). The staff were friendly, polite, and very helpful. In fact (unusualy for me) I made a point of thanking them for their excellent service when I checked-out.

My room (a double, for single occupancy) was nicely decorated and furnished, and had an sparklingly immaculately shower room. I felt so guilty on my first night when I inadvertently spilt sand from Lowestoft beach all over the floor from my shoes and trouser turn-ups! Very clean and comfortable bed, which was properly changed and made-up every day.

The cooked brekfast was excellent. Could almost not be faulted. Sausage, bacon, black pudding, fried egg, mushrooms, hash brown, grilled tomato, baked beans and fried bread (Yes - proper fried bread! But it is not obligatory). I've had quite a few full-English breakfasts around the country recently, and this was easily the best. Everything very good quality and cooked perfectly. It is a shame not all 3-star hotel (or even 4-star, for that matter) breakfasts are as good as this.

Overall, this hotel is really good value for money. It is smart, clean, comfortable, stylish, friendly, accessible, relaxing, basically everything you need from a hotel. From £55/night for a single room, although I paid £58/night for single occupancy double room. Note that rooms are slightly cheaper if you book through the hotel's own reservation system.

If you are worried about the location - don't be. Although the hotel is on a main road, it is really not that busy at all, and it is well away from the rowdier part of town. Also, there is an excellent pub almost opposite - The Coach & Horses, which has its own brewery - I recommend the CHB.

I thoroughly recommed this hotel.

Room Tip: My top floor room was in the eaves, which meant that there were sloping ceilings, but the room was b...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highrise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Me & my husband recently stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary.
Overall the hotel was lovely and cosy, staff were very friendly and the room and bathroom were very well maintained. Breakfast was really nice too!
We would definatly recommend ths hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
144 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing