We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stracey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Farm Hotel(Hethersett)
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunston Hall(Stoke Holy Cross)
US$127
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnham Broom(Barnham Broom)
US$270
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
210
184
46
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
184
46
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcity centrestay there againcarrow roadenglish breakfastcar parkbreakfast was excellentsmall hotelpowerful showersingle roomriverside complexconvenient locationclean hotelgood sizelovely hotelsaturday nightstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for two nights in this very clean and comfortable hotel.
The public areas are nicely decorated .
Our room was on the first floor. It was great. Comfy bed with nice fresh linen. Loads of storage space and a fantastic bathroom with a a huge shower.
As said before located near to the station and the riverside complex of cinema restaurants and bars. A ten minute walk to the historic centre.
Must also mention the coach and horses real ale pub located opposite great for a last drink on the way back to the hotel.
There is parking for a charge a minute or two away.You can park in line with the hotel but there are time restrictions.
The staff in this hotel were outstanding. They are its biggerst asset.
Would definately stay again

Room Tip: Reading other reviews it seems rooms on the ground and first floors are better for head height
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itcyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The promotional literature in the hotel describes it as "A brilliant boutique hotel in the riverside area of Norwich...". Well...... The hotel is about 300 yards from the river. However, between it and the river are the railway station, houses and a hude Royal Mail distribution centre. One side of the hotel looks out onto a main road and the other onto the vast car and lorry park of the mail centre.
I booked a double room. I was given a room on the second floor in a loft extension. It was very small and a good part of the room could not be accessed as the ceiling was so low. In fact, it was so small that there was no room for a wardrobe. Reception suggested that I hang my suits on the coathooks on the bedroom door.
The only alternative was a single room on the ground floor. It was across the hall from the bar and the corridor carried an aroma of stale beer. The room was fairly small but clean, with a small shower room and toilet. There was a very large bay window looking onto the road and the lorry park. However, the large window at street level meant that passers by could look straight in as there were no blinds or net curtains. That meant that the curtains had to be closed for any privacy.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of August with our 14 year old daughter. The hotel is ideally located, being close to the railway station, the riverside and within walking distance of the city centre. The reception we received was helpful and efficient and this continued throughout our stay. Both rooms were clean and comfortable, although one of the rooms was located in the eaves and was quite small and stuffy for a double room. This would be our only complaint as The Stracey represents excellent value for money and there was an excellent choicefor breakast. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If the weather is likely to be warm, perhaps ask to avoid the cosy attic room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I agree with the comments made by the other reviewers. A very nice comfortable hotel. I always like to be near the station and this hotel as well as being near the station also has the riverside leisure area with cinema, pubs, restaurants, riverside walks, retail park. The dining area is very pleasant and a great choice at breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The stairs are a challenge if you are upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

A small hotel - almost a B&B - with nicely-appointed rooms that have been refurbished recently. We had a good-sized double room and a spacious family room.

Despite the fact that the Stracey Hotel is on a busy junction of a fairly main road, it is surprisingly quite - but make sure you close the windows!

Staff (only one) was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. She recommended a local restaurant (Thai on the River) which turned out to be an excellent choice.

I'd stay thee again

Room Tip: Choose as room on the top floor. They are smaller but quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElDromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews