We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Denise C”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My friend and i had a great 2 night stay at The Stracey Hotel, it was in an ideal position for everything we wanted. The room was spotlessly clean and light and airey.The staff were very helpful and provided us with information we needed if they could.We were here to go and see Cliff Richard concert at Blickling Hall which was great, also Norwich is agreat place to visit so much to see and do we didn't have time, definately have to come back for another visit staying at The Stracey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Stracey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

When we arrived our rooms were not ready, we asked if we could get a drink from the bar whilst we waited, but that was also not open, in the end they let us have a coffee, but we were made to feel uncomfortable over it, whilst drinking the coffee, I realised that something was in the coffee I had just drunk... I removed it from my mouth and it was a spider, around the size of a 20pence coin, with stripy legs and everything! Made me question how clean the cups were and why it wasn't seen when making the coffee. Also in our room, the previous people's wet towels were still in the room in the bottom of a cupboard, and there was a massive crack right across the ceiling, we were also disturbed at 3 am by other people in the hotel going into their rooms. The breakfast was nice though, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joules3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StraceyHotel, General Manager at Stracey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Always disappointing receive negative feedback, but I do feel it worthwhile pointing out that the room was not available on arrival at 10-11am because check-in is officially 3pm. Our rooms are very rarely not available by 1pm.

Housekeepers serviced the room first and was available well before midday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Wow, in 2 minds about telling people how good this hotel is as I want to make sure they have a room for us when we return!
Everything is excellent, room standards, customer service, food and cleanliness.

Very handy for town and station. Only slight downside was stairs as they are steep but not a lot they can do about that and this is only me being picky!

Have booked a return stay and will be back more than once I'm sure.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I've stayed here about 8 times now, throughout the year, so feel that I can speak with some authority.

Where to Start? Well, the biggest negative I can think of, is not the fault of the hotel at all - simply, the lack of dedicated parking - there is on-street parking immediately available, (permit parking some times through the day), but with an NCP at the end of Stracey road, that's no big deal.

From that point on, the experience gets better - the Staff are friendly, obliging and very helpful - suitably knowledgeable about the city & amenities.

The rooms are clean and sparkling, all as you would want, en-suite, TV, comfortable beds, Tea & coffee making etc. Windows that open, and in the winter, good heating that works well. Only downside here is that in a couple of the rooms, the ergonomics of the en-suite could be better - the loo is close to a wall or shower unit.

Breakfast is good, plenty of tea, coffee and fruit juices, and if you want cooked, (rather than the continental offer) is cooked to order. (and that includes kippers) I haven't had the dinner, but what I have seen others eating, that has looked and smelled good.

A perfectly adequate bar rounds things off - but note that it does close at 11 - earlier if under employed, so that might impact on plans for a nightcap.

Logistically located a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre / Cathedral; it's an easy walk from the railway station.

Altogether, great value-for-money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My friend and I found the hotel was situated in a 5 min walk from the rail station. The young lady at reception kindly booked our taxi for Blocking Hall , for the following night as we were going to a Cliff Richards concert. She was very helpful . The breakfast was very good and set us up for the day.The young man was also very polite and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The Hotel was lovely and clean especially the Windows they shone . Thanking you all for a lovely stay .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Hotel is 5 mins from the train station & football ground, a 10 minute walk into the heart of beautiful Norwich & does a breakfast that will set you up for the day. Staff are very friendly & know the area/places to go. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_HJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Stracey Hotel. When making our reservation I asked if there was a chance that we could have a room on the ground floor as we had done the first time we had stayed. I am pleased to say that the receptionist was incredibly helpful in accommodating our request. When we arrived, we were checked in swiftly and given our keycard. To our amazement we were given the very same room that we had first stayed in, this was fantastic. A lovely room, very clean, large screen TV on the wall, tea and coffee making facilities and a wonderful bathroom with bath and shower. Plenty of bright white fluffy towels that were changed daily if required.
Breakfast each morning was cooked freshly to order. There was a plentiful supply of fresh fruit juice and tea and coffee.
At all times the staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely book to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2609caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#25 of 50 in Norwich
144 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing