We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff were very friendly and obliging, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and modern, although bed was very hard and neither of us slept too well in it but that's personal taste.
The breakfast was delicious.and more than adequate.
An all round excellent hotel which we enjoyed staying in and will certainly use again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lovelyhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is about the 3rd time I have used the Stracey and have always found the rooms to be clean, smart and well equipped. Staff are always friendly and helpful, breakfasts tasty and perfectly cooked. This visit was no exception, well done and thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karl_from_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at this Hotel many times and it never disappoints. Bedroom and ensuite was spotlessly clean and had ample tea/coffee and biscuits in the rooms. Full English breakfast was extremely generous. Staff very pleasant and professional. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The friendly staff, all one of him!, was pleasant & inviting when we arrived mid afternoon. The room was clean, it had good natural light and the fixtures & fittings were modern. The shower, in particular, was very good. The breakfast was good and once again the very friendly staff - yes him again! - were obliging and the service was swift. All in all a very pleasurable experience and certainly worth the £75 we spent for the night.
Two very slight negatives; 1) The room windows transmitted all the street noise, despite being fully closed, which was quite annoying and 2) The car parking restrictions really should have been mentioned on the Hotel website. Their absence caused a little delay in being able to park-up for the night.
I would highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheaper hotel options in Norwich, pay the extra and you won't need to take the valium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr_Jones701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

From top to bottom I will be staying here whenever I come to Norwich. Bright, happy, great staff and great bargain. Being from the states this is a place that understands service and what it means. Don't listen to the brand name hotels just rrmember the Stracey hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123uluvme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Brilliant hotel, close to the train station and ten minute's from the town, centre, very clean and spacious, helpful staff and a fantastic breakfast.
A hotel where you can chill and relax and just come and go as you please.
excellent, will be returning again, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

3 ladies on a 2 night city shopping weekend from Chesterfield.
Nice easy 3 1/2 train ride. Come out of the station at Norwich and turn right. Go up the hill, no more than 15 mins. to hotel. There is a shortcut but easier to ask than explain on here.
Nice old building with modern twist. Check in staff very welcoming.
We had a single and twin room. High ceilings, modern art work, fresh white bed linen with coloured runners. Big enough wardrobe. Beautiful clean bathroom with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries.
Dining room was big with separate tabels. Again the modern decorations, all perfectly colour co-ordinated, even down to the matching serviettes to go with the bold green wall - very tastefully done. Good choice of breakfast and buffet though on the Sunday morning there were fresh quoissants and on the Monday morning there weren't.
My only other minor niggle was no ice in the bar on the Sunday night. Had it been my hotel I would have got a bag from the supermarket! We would have happily stayed in the hotel drinking shorts but no ice meant we went elsewhere - shame.
However I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends and family.
Very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Private-eye-no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
707 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
6.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £60 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing