We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent one night here. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated, bedroom spacious and bathroom spotless and well stocked with toiletries. Evening meal and breakfast were excellent and service very quick. Overall a very nice place to stay. Only downside was car parking. There is no car park on site but luckily we were able to park outside which might not always be possible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thurbs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    175
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
145
46
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for one night on 9th November 2013 and I will definitely stay here again. The double room was very spacious and clean and the en suite shower room was one of the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. Our room faced the street but it was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Norwich is a compact city, but nevertheless the hotel is in a good location for exploring and great for getting to the train station and Norwich City football stadium. On this occasion, we did not try the lounge or breakfast services.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked the Stracey for a single nights stay as we were having drinks and a meal in the centre and wanted to stay fairly close but not too in the midst, so as not to be disturbed by the nightlife. We found the hotel immaculate, it had a lovely lounge/bar area, nicely decorated and well kept. Also, nice outdoor deck for alfresco dining/drinking. The breakfast was very nice with good choice. The room was very clean with a great power shower, large bathroom, very comfortable bed, wall mounted flatscreen TV and tea/coffee making facilites. Great stay for the price, would definately recommend and use again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I planned this trip from USA. I wanted to attend an EPL game and chose Norwich City because tickets were available and it was an easy train ride from London. My wife and I walked from the train station in Norwich about 10 minutes to the hotel. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and within walking distance to game and shopping area. Breakfast was good and the bar was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohnJ562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was very spacious and modern, clean and comfortable. the breakfast was delicious and plenty to choose from, our only downside was we stayed when the storms hit and we had to go home a day earlier and we never got anything back off our room, but would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After a massive booking issue with another hotel and their chosen site for taking bookings I had got desperate to find somewhere to stay that was city centre and at an acceptable price. I Found the Stracey on laterooms.com when I started searching again using different sites. I was surprised I hadn't found the Stracey before online, as it looked lovely from the pictures online and the reviews from other guests.

I was pleased that it was a short 5 min walk from the train station and not surrounded by all the pubs and clubs of the city I have experienced with many other hotel stays in Norwich. I visit on a regular basis to the city to visit family, so there aren't many places left I haven't stayed at. This hotel by far is one of the best. And i shall certainly stay again. Best hotel breakfast I've had in the city also.

Points to note for those looking to book -
The staff are lovely and very helpful.
Accessibility for the disabled is limited, as the main entrance is up several steps as are all but one single room.

Room Tip: If you adding any details regarding your stay be sure to call and check the staff have seen them, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff were very friendly and obliging, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and modern, although bed was very hard and neither of us slept too well in it but that's personal taste.
The breakfast was delicious.and more than adequate.
An all round excellent hotel which we enjoyed staying in and will certainly use again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lovelyhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
135 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Giles House Hotel
St Giles House Hotel
#1 of 50 in Norwich
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Property: Stracey Hotel
Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing