We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stracey Hotel”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night before the match. Clean, excellent quality of the rooms, friendly staff, 5 minutes walk from the station, with Norwich's pub of the year 20 yards away. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is 5 mins walk from station, and 10-15 mins to town centre, The hotel decor is modern and fresh; rooms are spotlessly clean and well equipped; staff welcoming and helpful, plus a good breakfast.
Would visit again and recommend to others

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

stayed for 2 nights - great location - only 5 minutes from rail station, easy walk into city centre - rooms were spotlessly clean, well laid out and nice big shower - not one of those cramped ones you often get. Breakfast was first rate - kept us going for hours - staff very friendly and very relaxed atmosphere about the place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed here at the beginning of December 2013, and we were very impressed!

She and her family travelled to Norwich for the weekend to visit me and so we booked a room in this hotel as for the night, the price seemed extremely good value. At about 7pm on our night of staying the hotel called to inform us that the boiler had broken and there would be no hot water or heating. We were told we were welcome to still stay if we wanted or could try and find another hotel.

We chose to stay and the hotel were extremely generous and reimbursed us for our night! As such, we stayed the night cost free.

Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was just as we expected and despite there being no heating, you wouldn't have known! The breakfast the next morning was lovely. We had a choice of cooked breakfast or the continental option.

Overall, we had a very good nights sleep, despite there being no heating. We would certainly look to stay here again on the customer service alone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmylieNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My room was on the top floor with the sloping ceilings but there was plenty of room. The room & bathroom were clean & updated & there was nothing shabby about this hotel at all. The staff were friendly & very helpful. My primary concern with hotels is safety and noise: I felt very safe & never heard a peep from other guests. The only negative I can think of is that it is a good ten minute walk to city center, if you care about that sort of thing (I don't). I never ate at The Stracey because I never saw anyone else doing so. There's a great pub across the street and some restaurants at the bottom of the hill (5 minute walk). I recommend The Stracey Hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I might ask not for a top floor room if I was tall and/or need lots of space - the ceilings do slope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in room 18 on the top floor. The room was impeccably clean, the bed was comfortable and it all looked great, but it is in the attic and has severely restricted headroom down one side of the room due to the eaves. I am 5'4" and could not walk round the bed without bending.
The bathroom was restricted on space - it was long and very, very, narrow - there was a gap of only about 14 inches between the sink and the wall so we had to turn sideways to walk in front of it, between the toilet and shower.
The space to stand up in the bedroom/ bathroom was actually less than that available in one of the single bedrooms. The top floor is also at the top of a couple of steep sets of stairs so unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems.
Staff were helpful and the breakfast was very good.
There is little parking available nearby. Rather than take the car into town we use the nearby public car park during the day (£5) then found a free 2 hour space from 4.30pm which we had to leave by 10am the following morning.
A mixed bag – some good points, some not so good. It might be useful for the hotel to mention that there is restricted headroom in some rooms as I suspect all four attic rooms will be the same.

Room Tip: If you are large, tall or don't want to bend, ask about the suitability when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FushiaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stracey is a great hotel - everything is finished to a very high standard (the shower was particularly good and VERY hot!), breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and kind. Thanks very much!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank c3dr1c2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#28 of 50 in Norwich
148 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £65 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing