We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for those travelling by rail”
Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The good points of this hotel are numerous. Staff are friendly and try to be helpful with bag storage etc. Location is very near the rail station so convenient for those travelling by train. Hotel looks newly refurbished so rooms are clean and bright.

However the bed was very squeaky and I found the room noisy due to the hotel's position on a main road. Room was hot as high summer but fan was provided. I don't sleep well with fan noise and would have preferred an air con unit.


Other issue was breakfast. Hob was broken so they could only offer scrambled egg. Disappointed by this as I don't eat that and a major reason I chose hotel was that breakfasts was included.

City centre is all walkable but expect a 15-20 min walk.

Overall a reasonable place to stay would have given 3.5 if half stars were possible.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Bitten_by_the_bug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Over all a nice, clean and tidy hotel. I stayed in one of the rooms at the top of the hotel which was fine for me but may challenge someone 6'' plus, due to the slope of the room.
The room was clean, well lit and furnished comfortably. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Based on my experience all the rooms will be furnished to a good standard, road noise on the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Warmer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel served us well as a stop off before our son's graduation. We were lucky to get the last street parking place, there is no car park. Our double room was small, but clean, and the ensuite bathroom was huge and very well fitted. The breakfast room is bright and very attractively furnished, although the breakfast itself was fairly basic, without much variety. No complaints, just not very exciting.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We must stress the staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
Bathroom was spacious, bedroom was clean and well presented however the bed was a little uncomfortable and extremely squeaky!
Food wasn't the best but what we expected from a relatively inexpensive hotel so no real complaint.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank annatay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Pros:
Good sized room
Good condition
Helpful friendly staff
Good breakfast
Convenient for station and town
Yard to put bikes in

Cons:
No air con so very warm in summer
Noisy as on corner of busy road so if you need to have the window open this isn’t ideal

Room Tip: If you want a double book direct as sites like booking.com can give you a twin when you ask for a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lizardius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Overall hotel very nice, but on arrival found our bed to have not been changed only made, previous occupants rubbish, half drunk water bottle, hair grips left on side and surfaces very dusty. Although manager had been advised he made no effort to have a word with us on the two mornings we saw him. Will not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StraceyHotel, General Manager at Stracey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

I can only apologise for this one-off mistake as your room was released to you before it had been serviced. We have clearly not met our own high standards in this particular occasion. I did not speak to you myself as I was satisfied that the situation was handled in-line with our guest service policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

On arrival our room was ready and we were able to check in before our giving time. Staff were extremly helpful in all areas. The breakfast was one of the best we have every had love the sausages mmm. We would defently stay here again :).

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay44jenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#2 of 50 in Norwich
1,252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#18 of 50 in Norwich
706 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
6.5 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range: £60 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing