We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed at the Stracey”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Stracey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stracey Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed at the Stracey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

With all due respect, our stay was not as hoped for.
The exterior didn't appear as the photo shown suggests and was quite shabby and ordinary.
Interior a bit better and fairly modern.
Where do I start? Firstly, no proper parking.... local car park indicates 24 parking but only gives tickets till 12 midnight …. £5 down the drain there. Then it was parking right at certain times on the road outside the hotel. So we parked very awkwardly like sardines in tin cans, very haphazardly, according to the lack of space leaving the car open to potential damage from both the road and from passing rowdy people who was passing to and fro at night!
The room was not a bad size but cluttered with furniture, the electrical sockets were few and far between and not located in ideal places for the hairdryer etc...
I asked for bath/shower and got a shower - nobody came back to question or explained it would only be a shower so perhaps the requests are not getting read?
No information about anything really was volunteered until it was asked for ... breakfast times were only mentioned when requested. In the evening, the weather turned very rainy and we decided to try the hotel dinner menu ... dressed and ready to eat we were then only told by reception (not earlier on check in as you would expect) that no meals were being served due to a broken hob! Interesting as a previous review stated read subsequent to our visit stated that this had been the case for them at least 2 weeks before our visit and it still wasn't fixed?
The night’s sleep was punctuated by noises and disturbance from outside on the street and constant worry about if the car was fine...
Breakfast was fairly good and had a good range of foods and was generous and was well presented except no fried eggs ... only scrambled.... due to the broken hob!
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel for the money at all as it was wasn't a relaxing visit, it was just one thing after another, climbing round the furniture in the room, trying to park the car safely, no meals onsite, etc. Not impressed with the staff’s attitude of not bothering to give out information at check in that was relevant like the broken hob. What would have been better was to have contacted guests previous to arrival (giving them the choice of whether to cancel and book elsewhere) and told them about the hob issue and the lack of evening meals and the impact on breakfast choices and also about the whether there was a bath in the room allocated or even in the hotel full stop! Having a bath rather than shower was a priority for me hence I sent a request. If they could not provide or were unsure of the request, they should have contacted us but didn't.
WI-FI free ….. Neither one of us could get it no matter which version used – it just wouldn’t activate so not ideal at all.
Lastly but by no means the least, I was infuriated that the hotel took the full amount of money almost instantly after booking ... not what was stated on the Booking.com site (as shown word for word below) and not a good practice holding onto the money for some weeks prior to our arrival and causing my partner issues (who had booked it) where he hadn't realized the money had been taken and not returned as a pre-check as suggested – again below! ‘Stracey Hotel may pre-authorize your card in advance to confirm it is valid and able to make the full payment amount’ this is stated on Booking.com regarding the hotel.
Sorry but not a good experience and over priced for the poor service, lack of parking and general apathy shown by the staff.

Room Tip: Not a room facing the street for a start!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DariusKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StraceyHotel, General Manager at Stracey Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review, and I am genuinely sorry we didn't live up to your expectations, but I will try to clarify a few points...

Parking and location - being a city center hotel we don't have dedicated parking, our promotional literature states this, and given our prime location there is always going to be an element of street noise.

Kitchen issues - very embarrassingly the issue in our kitchen dragged on too long, but we were being promised a part for our extraction by the day and were let down by the only company that manufactured the part.

Payment - again our literature states that payment is due in advance on certain rates. It is also on third party sites, although not as clearly as it could be, but frustratingly we don't control that content.

Wifi - given the unreliable nature of wifi over large networks we do suffer from black spots which is why we offer a wired connection in all rooms for those rooms that suffer. Our lounge area does have wifi ensuring coverage is available to all.

Requests - we certainly do read requests and oblige if we can. If we are advised of a request that would compromise someone's stay we would get in touch before confirming should that request not be possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    174
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
57
141
46
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A comfortable convenient hotel close to Norwich city centre. Friendly staff. Clean rooms and a good relaxed breakfast. May be difficult for parking if you wish to leave your car to explore the city on foot

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tonyhoy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very close to the station and the town. Lovely breakfast, clean very comfortable rooms en suite with a shower. Great bus service just outside trips to Wroxham and Cromer very cheap prices and great days out. The trips were recommended by the staff. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I was in room 18 a bit noisy from cars but close the windows no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alanwebb810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
234 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Stracey is a nice little hotel a short walk from Norwich station.

We had reserved the hotel's twin room which was spacious and comfortable. It was a hot summer day so having windows on two sides of the room created a great cross breeze. There was a bit of noise but that was mostly from the pub across the street and ended fairly early.

Free wifi worked well, there were tea making facilities in the room as well.

The bathroom was compact but had a fantastic shower with great water pressure and lots of hot water.

Breakfast was a simple full English and a bit of continental as well. Plenty to fill you up for the day.

The hotel was happy to keep our luggage for the day while we went to explore before catching a train back to London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great little hotel, great location for business or pleasure, friendly staff, nice clean rooms, we had a nice shower cubicle as well so much easier than a bath, also fab breakfast plenty of choice. Only reason for not saying excellent is the parking which I do appreciate is not the hotels fault but Norwich City Council probably, want you to bring money into the city but then don't want you to park. Otherwise thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely hotel, lovely breakfast and lovely people. Convenient for station and city centre.
Unfortunately noise and night was a problem. Next to Royal Mail depot so frequent car noise late evening and early morning, and many car doors slamming. Bin collection at 5pm did not help.
No doubt this would have been reduced with the windows closed but hot,humid weather made this impossible. Breakfast was great although only scambled eggs available on one day. Creaking bed still present.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a great hotel, close to the station, riverside restaurants / cinema. Warm and friendly welcome and service. Very nice bar /dining area with super outside seating area. Full of character and charm.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stracey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stracey Hotel

Property: Stracey Hotel
Address: 2 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stracey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stracey Hotel offers big Hotel chain benefits that the modern traveler demands with that personal touch they can't. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stracey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stracey Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing