We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great,good value guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlborough Guest House
Ranked #9 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great,good value guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

10 of us guys were travelling around UK by rail stopping at various places and we needed good reasonably priced accomodation.We certainly got it at this place.Great rooms,clean,spacious with good facilities,staff customer focused and welcoming.Breakfast great.We stay in lots of guest houses around the country and this is one of the better ones.Thanks and well done to the Marlborough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    34
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
33
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We paid £65 per night for a twin room, including breakfast. The room was uninviting, although the bed was both very soft and very comfortable which is, of course, hugely important. The bathroom was in real need of renovation. The towels were seriously old, very well used and felt like sandpaper. Overall, the room and the communal areas were clean - there were exceptions to this which shouldn't be taken too seriously. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fairly standard, although the cooked breakfast was well presented and perfectly cooked. The tea was worse than awful. The whole place lacked a homely feel to it and needed those extra touches which help to make a guest feel at home. I think it's mainly used as a kind of hostel for longer term guests and perhaps needs to rethink its target market. Fairly well positioned for Norwich City and, although perhaps a little overpriced for what it is, not unreasonable value for money. Overall, Marlborough Guest House is average and forgettable - not particularly to be recommended unless you want basic guest house accommodation in Norwich.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Lovely place perfect location for the town as we stayed over for a night out in Norwich.... We had the family room which was very spacious. very friendly owner and fantastic choice for breakfast overall really pleased Will definately be returning!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephie1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Great guest house - Robert and his team cant do enough for you - our rooms were very comfortable well appointed clean and recently refurbished - breakfast was one of the best - hotel is just a few minutes from the city centre and all that Norwich has to offer -- highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

A very friendly B&B, a mere 5 minutes walk from the station, providing the guest with the comfort one may expect at the reasonable prices asked. We had a spacious enough double room (clearly one of the recently renovated ones) with comfortable beds and a perfectly clean ensuite bathroom. Good quality English breakfast cooked to order is another asset --- we shall definitely try and stay here again when we come back to Norwich.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagTheBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

A brilliant guest house, less than 10 mins walk from the city center, train station an various shopping areas, lovely room and VERY clean, no usual niggles associated with most guest houses.

Currently undergoing a refurbishment, i was in one of the older rooms (which was still very clean and comfortable) but, if the reception and dining area are anything to go on, this will be a very good place for the price.

Free Wi-fi and breakfast (which came with nice thick bacon not the cheap rubbish :p)

The owner Robert and his friend Sandy were extremely pleasant, attentive, welcoming and patient, they even managed to put up with me and help accommodate when i managed to lose their parking permit :/ I didnt have the pleasure of meeting Maxine but can only assume she is just as lovely

All in all, a great stay, my only niggle is that i stayed for work not pleasure :)

Shaun

Room Tip: The Older rooms are perfectly fine but I'm sure the refurbed ones will be a treat :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunburton01623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Within walking distance of railway station.
I had the big front room.
Ticks the essential boxes - clean, no thick carpets, TV, recently refurbished
Also lots of sunlight, big reception room, good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOASIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich Nelson City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Guest House

Property: Marlborough Guest House
Address: 22 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England (Formerly Marlborough House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marlborough Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing