We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlborough Guest House
Ranked #9 of 81 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Guest House”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great Guest House, friendly staff, well run.
Rooms spacious, clean and bright, beds very comfortable.
Located within 5 minutes walk of Norwich Station.
Can highly recommend this Guest a House to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    34
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
36
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a great little guest house/ hotel. Cheap as chips but well fitted out, immaculately clean and a great breakfast.

Trip advisor say my review has to be 200 characters long so I am just filling it up with meaningless nonsense is that long enough trip advisor?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very short walk from rail station while pulling a heavy bag & easy to find. It's very clean throughout, management is welcoming & willing to meet your needs. During my 5 night stay some remodeling was in progress - painting - without disruption. 2 nights I was in a triple-bedded room, then a single wide bedded room. The linens are plentiful, of good quality & not stingy with pillows so you can be propped up to read or use tele. Convenient bedside table with excellent lighting. Nice area to hang clothing or spread your bag, although I wouldn't have liked to share the space. Excellent shower! Very small basin took some getting used to. Stairs are steep & not suited to the fumble-footed - use care. Excellent service carried my bag up & down. Night manager a wealth of information & very helpful. Breakfast is the typical fare with bonus of fresh fruit & tasty mushrooms. Only downside for me was the other guests that tend to bang doors with no regard to others & those that talk loudly late at night. Pleased with value, location & willing staff.

Room Tip: If it's hot weather the front, west-facing room tends to be warm & very bright - use a eye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A friend and myself stayed at this lovely friendly comfortable guest house when attending a hen party in Norwich.The Marlborough is within easy walking distance for town centre and bars even in heels!,we had a very nice breakfast in the light and airey dining room in the morning served by the owner himself.Nothing was too much trouble, we highly recommend this establishment for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife came across this while i was seeking short term accomodation in Norwich where i was doing contract work with the NHS at the time it was being refurbed now complete. I arrived late having driven 250 miles but Sandy night manager waited up to ensure all was ok.
Room spacious and well serviced. Excellent breakfast which kept me fed for the day Robert and Maxine gave good advice on the locality and it was a short 15 minute walk to work.
First time visitor here a bit like Chester so hope to return later for a holiday. Work continued for several weeks and i was more than happy to return to this Hotel. Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Talk to your host very accomodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

After more than 30hrs travelling the immeasurable kindness & brilliant service we received (from parking, bringing in our luggage, checking-in, accomodating our forgotten toiletries needs and wonderfully comfortable & styled room, plus the most beautifully cooked, flavorsome breakfast) our stay at Marlborough House Hotel was perfect!!! Many thanks! Very highly & strongly recommend a stay here!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I came across this guest house by chance and what a delight it was too. The room we had was large and very nicely furnished with modern TV and Tea making facilities. Everything was clean the bath/shower room was spotless. Breakfast was great with real food you could see that just by looking at it. We were told everything was locally sourced and it tasted like it. The owners we met were very nice and friendly and took time to speak us and helped us in and out of the establishment, nothing was to much trouble. The owners told us that their family had run this establishment since 1969. When we have to stay in Norwich again this is the place for me. The Waterfront, Eating places and cinema, Station, Bus services, Football ground and City Centre were all a few minutes walk. Parking I thought was going to be a problem until the guest house owner produced a hotel parking permit for on street parking which we were allowed to keep with us until day of departure. All in all a wonderful experience never ever have we stayed in such a clean place.

Room Tip: Nothing more to add, our room was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colchester30E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.0 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
0.3 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Guest House

Property: Marlborough Guest House
Address: 22 Stracey Road, Norwich NR1 1EZ, England (Formerly Marlborough House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marlborough Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Guest House Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing