We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good dinning experience”
Review of The Mad Moose - CLOSED

The Mad Moose
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: WSS is your city address day and night. The social hub of Norwich's Golden Triangle serving modern inventive dishes and on-point drinks. An urban meeting place for breakfast, casual daytime dining, dinnertime get-togethers and so much more... WSS has commissioned Chef Patron Daniel Smith to contribute classic dishes with a modern twist taking a seasonal approach, unrivalled fruit and veg grown on our farm, traditionally baking bread on-site, making our own ice-creams from scratch. Settle into our snug, grab a seat at our sharing table or experience our private dining areas.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good dinning experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Really liked this restaraunt, i came to 1up with friends and very much enjoyed it. The food was really good quality and a good portion. I opted for the duck as my main meal which was really good. all in all the experience, made me feel like i was having a real treat!!
The meal was reasonably priced and the service was good, polite staff and was served with the right amount of time between courses. This restaraunt is worth visiting as it is one of the only places in norwich which is able to make you feel this special. The venue is good for a girlie treat or family occassion/romantic meal out.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 08292011e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent evening for two”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our 17 year old son recently passed his driving test and promised to take and collect us, from any restaurant in Norwich. We made the perfect choice with the Mad Moose!

Having arrived early we intended to eat and drink outside as the garden is a lovely suntrap and it has three distinctive waterfeatures. However on this particular evening it was blustery everywhere and with a couple of wasps about we headed indoors (and closer to the bar!).

The staff were excellent (thank you Josh) and we were spoilt for choice as to drinks including many of my favourite beers (Hoegarden, Leffe and Staropramen on tap and each served in its own distinctive glasses).

For starter we shared nachos with the usual cheese and sour cream but accompanied by home made salsa that was the best i have ever tasted.

For main we both plumped for sweet chilli chicken with noodles (crispy and lightly battered chicked with a sweet chilli sauce) and then shared an Eton Mess for dessert.

The staff were thoroughly attentive collecting drink orders and delivering them to our table.

I had intended to wander along to a number of other pubs in the area but with such good service and quality of food and drink we barely had time to visit anywhere else (after all number one son wanted to go out after he had returned his parents home!)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merlinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dreadful, smelt of grease,dirty tables,”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My friend and I could not credit this eatery was part of the Widerbeest group. We had intended to eat but were put off by the smell, and dirty , sticky to touch tables. As it was the start of service when we arrived we did not expect to be greeted with fag ends at the entrance , how long had they been there?
The menu was uninspiring ,
We had two glasses of white wine which cost £11.20 rather excessive.
The experience was so distasteful that we left and went elsewhere. What the upstairs establishment is like I can not say as it appeared unavailable during the day.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NR2's best kept secret”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This busy, well maintained and very popular pub also has a very good kitchen. The food you can order from the bar might have been the same menu but it is SPOT ON every single time. We haven't tried upstairs yet but we definitely will.

We are not easy to please so giving 5*'s means a lot. The only reason we gave Service 4* was a slightly frosty manageress, but maybe we were enjoying ourselves too loudly. Other members of staff made up for it anyway which is what a great pub needs.

Overall - go here. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Market333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pre-Christmas gathering”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I am only writing this because Jo- the hard-working and extremely efficient darling who manages this outlet of the highly recommended small (and good because of that) Norfolk 'Animal Inns' chain, founded by Henry Watt and his partner- is such a sweetie,
She has looked after an annual pre-Christmas reunion for friends from near and far (and numerous visits to the downstairs bar, in between!) for the past few years and is ALWAYS welcoming, charming and attentive to detail.
However, there is life beyond Jo - albeit not in the same plane....
And I would not hesitate to recommend diners to any of the other 'Animal Inns' outlets, including (especially, perhaps, The Wildebeest Arms at Stoke Holy Cross, just outside Norwich) for good food, well-presented at a very reasonable price.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank ColinB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mad Moose also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing