We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Ranked #43 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
halesowen
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

stayed here before and recommended. this time at check in we were advised that we had not been allocated the family room we had booked but had been given a second room at no extra charge. we had my elderly mother in law with us who gets easily confused and loses her way. my husband and i had specifically booked this room but were advised that the hotel had been overbooked as they used. 2 booking companies. we accepted the rooms as we had no alternative at short notice. at breakfast the choise of food and drink was good but thencoffe ran out and was not replenished as did a number of things. the cutlery and plates were not washed properly and the coffee machine looked like it had not been cleaned in months. think i will try elsewhere next time i am in Norwich

Room Tip: rear rooms overlooking thw river have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalesowenStel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    58
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
45
75
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed four nights. The room clean and tidy overlooked the gardens and river. The room was cleaned every day. The price included a continental breakfast, for £3 you could have the full breakfast which was good value.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We travelled with parents over the age of 75 who did find the stairs difficult. The Carvery was very popular which made parking difficult at meal times although we always managed to park. Its location was perfect for visiting the Broads. Unfortunately we went in June and it rained most of the time so we did not get a chance to sit out in the garden overlooking the river, but I can imagine on a nice summers day it would be relaxing watching the Swans, Ducks and Boats go by.

Room Tip: We had two rooms with even numbers 8,10 which overlooked the garden and river and both rooms were qu...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pamwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel is quite old and a bit Fawlty Towers. The less able might find the stairs a bit of a struggle. We enjoyed the stay. Our room overlooked the river and was spacious. Its location on the East side of Norwich was perfect for visiting the Broads and its only a short bus ride into Norwich Centre. The bar on site was a bonus with several Real Ales. Buffet breakfast was adequate and the staff helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear garden would be my choice although the road at the front is no longer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutkins47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here for three nights over the Bank Holiday. Very easy to find but difficult to park on the Friday as a lot of people were using the carvery. Good booking in and the young man Ed helped carry our luggage up the stairs. We were shown to room 5 which was clean and tidy overlooking the gardens and river. Downside was that the room and ensuite were very small. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided plus biscuits. Unfortunately the door at the top of the stairs from the carvery to the bedrooms had a very strong spring and would bang too every time used. Not good especially at 1.30am and again at 6.30.a.m. Breakfast good and staff very friendly If we stayed again would request a larger room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights from 3rd to 6th April and paid just £90 for the two of us!

Continental breakfast was included in this price, but we opted for the full breakfast which was excellent value at around £3 each. Carvery food was also excellent.

Our room was spacious and spotless, with a view of the garden and river. The bathroom was a bit cramped, but for the time we spent in there, it really didn't matter!

The staff were lovely and very attentive - especially Tammy! (she's also very knowledgeable about the local wildlife!!) Nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

The hotel might be a 30 min walk into Norwich, but there are bus stops quite near, we used the bus service to go to Norwich, Great Yarmouth, Cromer and Wells-next-the-sea - this made a welcome change from driving. The entrance might have been a bit dirty at times, but that's only to be expected when it's situated on a main road.

All in all,we would thoroughly recommend the Townhouse to anyone who is looking for a centrally located budget hotel in the area. We use Inn Keepers Lodges quite often, and this has to be one of the best. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the main road, so we requested a "river view" upper floor room which was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A true bargain! Paid £35.00 for double room for one night. Great location, spottless room. But what set it apart was the fantastic staff ! So helpful and friendly. Have family near by so will use this hotel again and recommend it to others. Could not fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking garden and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed for bank holiday weekend in room 7. It overlooked the road and I was a bit worried about the noise, but it was fine. The room had a small double bed (definitely not Kingsize!) with flat screen tv and a fan because the room was quite warm. There was a kettle with big mugs and tea/coffee/biscuits. The bathroom had a nice shower. The hotel had obviously read the reports on trip advisor because we had a glade air freshener in the room which worked because we were over the kitchens. We could hear them moving furniture late at night and early in the morning. The car park at the side of the hotel was never full so we were able to get parked ok. At 6pm on a Friday evening the hotel restaurant was packed and the queue for the carvery too long for our liking so we decided to go for a walk. Left out of the hotel is a really nice Chinese restaurant called Canton. Right out of the hotel are some nice pubs too. It was a long way to Norwich. But the hotel is perfect for touring the Broads, it was half hour to Great Yarmouth, half hour to Cromer, 20 mins to Wroxham. No where is too far away. Breakfast was cereals/toast/fruit juice/yogs tea & coffee, perfect for us. For the price we paid over bank holiday weekend it was an absolute bargain. We had a lovely time and would stay again. Rooms 6, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16 and 18 face front and rooms 4, 8, 10, 11, 15, 17 and 19 face the river (I think). Rooms 17 and 19 looked quite large from the map on the back of the door (fire escape route).

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cumberlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Oaklands Court
#65 of 80 in Norwich
18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
2.0 mi away
The Lord Rosebery
The Lord Rosebery
#21 of 80 in Norwich
119 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Blue Boar
The Blue Boar
#17 of 80 in Norwich
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Address: 18-22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you'd be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this. Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds. Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman moat and Bailey Castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It's also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They're a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts - although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Norwich
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing