We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic break (wife's birthday)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Ranked #43 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Belvedere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Romantic break (wife's birthday)”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First impressions count for a lot in my book and this place got off to a great start. Fast and friendly service on arrival, a clean comfy sized room overlooking the river Yare, who could ask for more. We dined in the pub downstairs (very good selection of beers on offer). The meals itself were limited to a carvery and the quality of the food was very good. The best thing of all was the value for money. Under £4 each was wonderful value for money. At 6.30 there was plenty of space and although very hot inside we found a table near to the gardens. After we'd eaten we sat in the garden and had a great evening enjoying the fresh air and the scenery.
The breakfast was complimentary, but wasn't bad. There was the option to pay a little extra for a cooked breakfast, but I wasn't that hungry. The continental breakfast was adequate if unexciting, but as I stress I wasn't that hungry.
Will certainly return again

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river, the views on the other side are of a disused block of flats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    58
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
45
75
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were here for two nights for a family party. We were given a room overlooking the main road. Either it was well soundproofed or I was very weary, since I heard no road noise. Not an issue. The room itself was fine. I don't demand much, just a reasonable bed, a shower and adequate towels. And maybe a kettle etc. All present and correct. When I told the management that one of the lights had gone in the bathroom, it was replaced by the time we came back. We did eat from the carvery. Exactly what you would expect from a carvery. No complaints at all, especially given the price charged. The continental breakfast was not as good as I had hoped. The croissants and pastries could have been fresher. However there was plenty else to eat. The toaster has to win a prize as one of the slowest I have even encountered! Plenty parking, either in the car park itself, or immediately in front of the hotel. Southwold ales, so no complaint there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styvechale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A nice clean room with double bed which I found ok but the wife said it was uncomfy. We had a river view room which was a nice outlook, the room was small so would not be suitable for a long stay. Sadly the roadside rooms would be noisy from the busy road and the view of the opposite apartment block is awful.

The bar and staff were very good and the riverside garden was lovely. The location is 45/60 mins walk into the city centre or £6.50 taxi fare.

The continental breakfast was good and there was an option of full English for an extra £3.99.

Yes its location is a bit out of the way and probably not up to the chain hotel standards but we had a very enjoyable stay there and would happily return.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We booked in on line after seeing the lovely photos of the rooms and river etc. But when we arrived and were shown to our room oh my goodness!!! The room smelt, it's was onto a main road overlooking a derelict block of flats!! The road was very busy, the room was shabby- nothing like the photos on line. There was a lot of shouting going on around us, the floor boards were very creeky! Apparently we were above the kitchens.
We did ask for our money back as we had paid £66 for B&B for the room for 2 people, and did not feel it was even worth this and was not a good representation of the Internet site. However the staff were very friendly and we could not fault them at all. We walked along the river and spotted a lovely B&B for £48 for the night which is where we stayed and it was lovely. A good decision made.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

After a 200 mile trip and a funeral we were looking forward to a good meal and relaxation. When a carvery is advertised I would expect it to be in addition to a normal menu, not instead. Food not bad but having to queue to buy tickets and then to queue to get the carvery was too much.
Moved twin beds apart in order to have enough room to walk between them, and found sweet wrappers on floor. Obviously nobody had looked under the beds.
Paid £61.98 for bed and english breakfast. Eggs rubbery even though they had only just come out, bacon hard, sausages deep fried, beans dry, mushrooms were extra. I did enjoy the tomatoes.
Staff very friendly.
Won't be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Honestly - people are so unrealistic. If you pay £35pn, you're not gonna get the Ritz!
What you will get on the other hand is a very well equipped, clean room, with a comfortable bed and shower. You will get a varied continental buffet. And what we got in abundance was smiles and help.
We stayed here a couple of months back after a wedding at a hotel further up the road. It was cheaper than the other hotel, and after viewing both, much cleaner and friendlier I might hasten to add. Our room was well heated, with an additional plug in radiator and fan if needed. Good tea/coffee facilities. Everything had been thought of.
The bathroom was immaculate, and I thought the economy shower gel and soap dispensers were a great idea - something we are looking in to for our hotel.
We were at the front of the building, so there was the inevitable delivery in the morning, but it didn't bother us one bit. If you are the sort of person that can't deal with that, then you should ask specifically for a room at the back before you book. We were not disturbed by any other guests.
We paid £65, and including breakfast, we felt this was a very good deal. The restaurant is a little old school and dark, but the views of the river are spectacular, so made up for it.
If everywhere was swanky, you wouldn't get such great one night deals, so think before you write about places being 'dated'.
The staff were SO helpful. We committed the cardinal sin of arriving early and unannounced, but being 6 months pregnant at the time, I really wanted to drop my bags. Not a problem for the nice man at the bar, who went to check if our room was ready, then took out bags and gave us a key for later.
The lady who served us at breakfast was very sweet, and both chatted to us.
All in all, I was pregnant and found this MORE than comfortable enough for a one night stay, and would have happily stayed longer.
You get what you pay for, people, and this is very good for a cheaper hotel. You can't review a place based on somewhere more expensive. I would give this 5 stars (for what it is), but the dining area could be a little brighter. That is my only criticism.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask to sleep at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longcoatcrinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Wstopped here for an Easter break 2012. 2 Adults and 2 Children. We paid about £35 per room per night and this included continental breakfast. Very good value, granted not the best hotel but what you get for the price is really good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Oaklands Court
#65 of 80 in Norwich
18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
2.0 mi away
The Lord Rosebery
The Lord Rosebery
#20 of 80 in Norwich
119 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Blue Boar
The Blue Boar
#17 of 80 in Norwich
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Address: 18-22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you'd be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this. Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds. Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman moat and Bailey Castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It's also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They're a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts - although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Norwich
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing