We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Ranked #41 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just back from a few days staying at the Town House Hotel. Room as advertised, basic and clean with comfy beds.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Food excellent quality and value for money.
Our river view room overlooked the gardens of the hotel and was nice and quiet at night.

Room Tip: I always take earplugs away just incase of disturbances. Only noise from creaky floorboards, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valiain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge, Norwich .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    57
    40
    16
    10
See reviews for
44
74
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed and little has changed since last year. The public areas are looking a little worn and in need of some tlc.The room itself was spacious clean tidy and comfortable. One tip if you are a light sleeper try for a room at the rear of the Inn. The stairs are quite steep and difficult for anyone with a mobility problem. Booking in was quick and easy and the young man in question carried our case to the room. Breakfast was fine and all in all we would be happy to stay again. We would particularly like to compliment Tammy and Megan on their friendly and helpful attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff is this hotel's biggest asset. They are friendly, professional and welcoming. The rooms are clean, a reasonable size and adequate. The view out of the back onto the river is lovely. The food is fine for the price. I paid 66 pounds for a big room and was very happy with my stay. It's dated (but not dirty). I would stay here again for definite. Having the pub downstairs was great in my eyes and it wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: Room 18 was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a shame that the cleanliness of this place lets it down badly. It is in a lovely location and we called by for a carvery lunch on a glorious Sunday lunchtime. The river runs right behind and the setting is lovely.

First the food - £7ish for a carvery lunch which was a choice of 4 meats (turkey, beef, gammon and pork which were all nicely cooked and you could have some of each) was acceptable. There was a choice of roast potatoes, mashed potato, green beans (very nice) cauliflower (too hard), carrots, onions, stuffing and Yorkshire pud. Gravy was available as were horseradish sauce, apple sauce etc. However these were on a separate table and there were several flies buzzing around so I gave them a miss.

The food was adequate but the tables were awful. Scratched and bare and you had to set your own place from cutlery which stood in a pot on the table and was none too clean. Everything was just neglected. Window catches broken, peeling paint, grubby windows and so on. Outside could be a lovely garden but it was also run down and there were actually large buddlea plants growing out of the guttering at the back.

While I was there I heard a staff member telling a customer that they were closing for a few days to have new carpet fitted. Believe me, it needs a lot more than some new carpets! A thorough cleanse from top to bottom, some new hygienic looking tables and a big dollop of TLC.

I wouldn't go there again and I certainly wouldn't feel happy taking friends there as it is so shabby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennylaneEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit to TheTown House Restaurant, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed here with our 2 children. Given a room overlooking the main road, no problem at all. Room was very very clean and cleaned every day (stayed for 4 nights). We tried to be realistic when we paid and booked for the room (£200 for 4 nights), didn't expect much, to us most important is cleanliness and this Inn pleasantly offers that. Staffs were very friendly. Continental b'fast included in the price. (or you could get full English for reasonably £3.99 additional per person). Norwich FC just down the road (5 mins drive). Would stay there again when in visiting Norfolk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YUNI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvedere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First impressions count for a lot in my book and this place got off to a great start. Fast and friendly service on arrival, a clean comfy sized room overlooking the river Yare, who could ask for more. We dined in the pub downstairs (very good selection of beers on offer). The meals itself were limited to a carvery and the quality of the food was very good. The best thing of all was the value for money. Under £4 each was wonderful value for money. At 6.30 there was plenty of space and although very hot inside we found a table near to the gardens. After we'd eaten we sat in the garden and had a great evening enjoying the fresh air and the scenery.
The breakfast was complimentary, but wasn't bad. There was the option to pay a little extra for a cooked breakfast, but I wasn't that hungry. The continental breakfast was adequate if unexciting, but as I stress I wasn't that hungry.
Will certainly return again

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river, the views on the other side are of a disused block of flats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Norwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were here for two nights for a family party. We were given a room overlooking the main road. Either it was well soundproofed or I was very weary, since I heard no road noise. Not an issue. The room itself was fine. I don't demand much, just a reasonable bed, a shower and adequate towels. And maybe a kettle etc. All present and correct. When I told the management that one of the lights had gone in the bathroom, it was replaced by the time we came back. We did eat from the carvery. Exactly what you would expect from a carvery. No complaints at all, especially given the price charged. The continental breakfast was not as good as I had hoped. The croissants and pastries could have been fresher. However there was plenty else to eat. The toaster has to win a prize as one of the slowest I have even encountered! Plenty parking, either in the car park itself, or immediately in front of the hotel. Southwold ales, so no complaint there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styvechale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
7.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hill House Guest House
Hill House Guest House
#11 of 80 in Norwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wensum Guest House
Wensum Guest House
#16 of 80 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marlborough Guest House
Marlborough Guest House
#10 of 80 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Address: 18-22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you'd be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this. Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds. Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman moat and Bailey Castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It's also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They're a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts - although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Norwich
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing