We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to look at from the road but a lovely place inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
Ranked #47 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Not much to look at from the road but it is a lovely place with stunning views of the river. There is free unlimited wifi which is great. The only small problem was that the room had been catered for 2 people in terms of pillows, towels, cups etc and there were 3 of us sharing a room. We did ask for another cup during dinner that night but we didn't get one. The dinner was really lovely and good value i.e meat free carvery was £2.99 and really good too. You can have as much veg as you wanted (and there is a big choice) and for meat eaters there is a big serving of meat given. A free continental breakfast is included in the room price which is actually very nice with a good choice of cereals, porridge, yogurts, fresh fruit, breakfast muffins, croissants, chocolate muffins, toast, jams, juices, teas and coffee. You can also pay for a cooked breakfast. If possible at least take a walk in the garden, it is very well kept and a beautiful walk down to the river. It was difficult to sleep when we were there but only as the night was so hot, we were provided with a fan and this did not distract from the overall experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluexandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed overnight during graduation week (hotels very hard to find and so settled on this one as available). £52 with continental breakfast for a double room not at all bad and the room was clean and comfortable with a good shower. We had our breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river at the back and it was really lovely (mind you it was a beautiful day). The person who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful as was the lady looking after the breakfasts this morning. So for a budget overnighter or two, I would say give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge, Norwich . We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I suppose it was a good bed and breakfast deal. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean but cramped. As others have said, the hot water wasn't always hot, especially in the morning. Luckily it wasn't hot weather when we were there as we wouldn't have been able to have the windows open as there was a wasps nest in one of the rotten window ledges outside and the wasps also liked to buzz around the other rotten window ledge stripping off what remained of the paint. When we booked it online we automatically got a full English breakfast in the price. Wouldn't have paid separately for it as it wasn't brilliant. The only thing that seemed to be freshly cooked were the fried eggs. I had to stir the baked beans as they had a skin on top - yuk! The sausages looked as though they had been reheated from the morning before, so not very appealing. We have stayed in better Innkeepers Lodges.

Room Tip: River facing rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WhatAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel for two nights. It was reasonably priced and included free wifi and a continental breakfast. It is certainly a no frills hotel, but it was clean and it was very quiet in our room and we slept well. The rooms are an average size for the UK, however the bathroom/toilet was a bit small, but again, adequate for our short stay. They do a buffet carvery every night for a very cheap price, which was delicious, especially after a late arrival on the first night. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and it was only a 5 minute drive into Norwich. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholiday08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Used this for a weekend break when in Norwich for a friends wedding. Arrived late but staff were very friendly and polite. Tired on the outside but absolutely fine inside. Staff lovely throughout the weekend. Room was clean and big enough to fit a travel cot in as well as having the sofa bed pulled out. Had paid a bit extra for a riverside room and the boys were excited about seeing the river, unfortunately we were at the far end of the corridor which has a lot of trees around it so was impossible to see the river from the room! I'd ask to be at the nearer end of the corridor if we were to go again. Can smell the kitchen in the corridor but not at all in the room. Ate at the carvery one evening which was absolutely fine - standard carvery fare. Garden out the back is lovely and it was nice for the kids to have somewhere to run around which you don't often get with a travel lodge sort of place.
Would stay again if we needed somewhere to stay in Norwich.

Room Tip: If you want to see the river ask to be at the nearer end of the corridor!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyfulJen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had two nights earlier this week for a course I was attending. Booked a single room which was adequate. The room was pleasant enough for the type of hotel. if i had been staying longer I would have gone for a double even though a single occupancy. I found all the staff friendly and helpful, on the morning I was leaving the young man (I didn't get his name) who was overseeing the breakfast noticed I had my road atlas with me and he gave me some advice from his own travels on avoiding some of the M25 on the return journey. It's things like that that make a stay all the more pleasant; proved very useful.
I did have to leave the window open all night as I found the room very warm, partly due to the weather I'm sure.

Room Tip: If you can book a room ask for one overlooking the garden and the River Yare.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatherHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Town House, Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from 3 night break here in Norwich. The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough.
As with all innkeepers lodges, the hotel is tired, but impeccably clean, although this is the first innkeepers lodge where our bed was not made daily. We would leave it after breakfast looking tidy, if a little crumpled and that is how it stayed. Towels however and tea/coffee etc were replenished without stinting.
Our room, No 15, although tiny, had a beautiful view over the river but being unable to open the window widely ( as with all hotels) it became very hot during the day and night, although a fan was thoughtfully provided. There is a very small amount of drawer and hanging space and incredibly the tea/coffee tray is placed under the clothes hangers, resulting in clothes being well steamed when the kettle boiled. The bathroom is "bijou" with an even cosier shower cubicle. But it was clean and well maintained, apart from the incredible length of time it takes for hot water to appear. We would run the hot tap/shower and make a cup of tea whilst waiting for the hot water to come through. If this hotel is on a water meter, there are better ways to spend your money!!
The staff here are wonderful and having the rooms on top of a restaurant/carvery leading onto a beautiful beer garden, running down to the river,just made it all the better.
I get the impression that the manager had got a perfect team together who are well trained, anxious to please and cannot do enough.
An Innkeepers lodge will never rival the Ritz, but for plain down to earth comfort and value for money, with the exception of a couple, we have never found better

Room Tip: Ask for a river viewroom. The others face the road, which must be a disappointment.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Oaklands Court
#65 of 80 in Norwich
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Norfolk Broads - Swan Inn
2.0 mi away
The Lord Rosebery
The Lord Rosebery
#23 of 80 in Norwich
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich

Address: 18-22 Yarmouth Road, Norwich NR7 0EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: £56 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to explore historic Norwich or soak up the scenery of the Norfolk Broads, you'd be hard pushed to find a hotel as perfectly placed as this. Nestled in a lovely spot on the banks of the River Yare, opposite Whittingham Country Park, the lodge houses 14 warm and welcoming rooms as well as a Crown Carvery. So you can enjoy the tranquility of the area with your choice of roast, freshly steamed vegetables, roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds. Norwich has some of the best medieval architecture in Britain with a Norman moat and Bailey Castle and a fine cathedral dating back to 1096. It's also home to the Norfolk Broads, the largest protected wetlands in the country. They're a mecca for sailors, motor-boaters, canoeists and fishing enthusiasts - although walkers, bird watchers and cyclists will find plenty to do without having to get wet. Norwich Aviation Museum is just up the road, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Norwich
Innkeeper's Lodge Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing