We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place/location”
Review of number 17

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
number 17
Ranked #17 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab place/location”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Jim and Glynis were excellent hosts. Their main accomodation was superior. The dining room was spotless and spacious. To the rear is a converted outbuilding containing very pleasant 'lodge' style accomodation. Breakfast was on a par with other good establishments. Location is ideal with the main centre on the doorstep. Immediately behind the B&B is a council car park which was ideal for parking my motorcycle overnight. It was absolutely no trouble for Glynis to forward my phone charge which I had forgotten to pack. Would most definitely stay there again and recommend it. Thanks Jim/Glnys

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spud3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    45
    21
    11
    0
See reviews for
26
70
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for one night and enjoyed our stay. The owners were very helpful especially with a parking permit for the nearby car park. Our room was a little small but the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent as was the dining area.

Room Tip: There is an annexe with rooms as well as the main building. Ask which room you're having , it ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill186383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Been looking forward to staying at No. 17 after reading all the reviews. All expectations met. Room was off court yard. Well decorated and most comfortable beds we have had for years. Breakfast was superb . Makes such a change to stay in such an individual family run establishment. Far superior to the bland and faceless Inns and Lodges.Also very reasonably priced for its city location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTLIML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I made number 17 our East Anglia base for several nights. Our accommodation was across a charming courtyard. Large bed/sitting room, large ensuite bath, and a loft with twin beds and another wardrobe. Plenty of room to stretch out, and everything was neat and clean. Breakfasts were very good (especially the coffee) although the menu did not change during our stay. Would have liked more light over the bathroom sink. Wonderful location, a quick walk to almost everywhere in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here a few years ago on our last night in Norwich before we moved abroad. Every year when we come home in the summer we try to make a booking there but they are always full, which shows how popular it is. The location is brilliant for Norwich everything is in walking distance. Rooms are much better in real life, the website photos don't do it justice. And it isn't overly expensive either. If you stay anywhere in Norwich make it here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiHaverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Clean - very! Spacious-very! Wifi- good. Breakfast - nice. Bit of a push to pay cash though which was a bit annoying!!! as we couldn't. Parking is public carpark and that is a bit of a pest. BUt the location is very gpood for walking round Norwich and if you don't have a car then it is ideal.

Room Tip: If you are with your family the units are great as they are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A lovely B&B in the centre of the city. Peaceful and delightful. Excellent breakfast. It was in an area I knew anyway and is close to all the attractions in the city. Even though it was in a city centre location the rooms are set well back so that you get a good nights sleep. It is in a traditional wooden framed building which only adds to the character and experience. The bed was comfy and the room clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful in explaining everything and in the morning the breakfast was wonderful. It was just a pity that I could not eat all of it. The room had a TV and shower and was on the ground floor. This was helpful as It meant I didn't have to carry my folding bike far.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPrincevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.1 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#3 of 50 in Norwich
1,160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#30 of 50 in Norwich
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to number 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about number 17

Property: number 17
Address: 17 Colegate, Norwich NR3 1BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — number 17 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
number 17 is positioned in the historic heart of the city, within 5 minutes walk of the main shopping area. Our contemporary styled rooms offer en-suite shower or bathrooms, LCD satellite TV's, free internet access, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryers.Guests are offered a full service breakfast including cereal, seasonal fresh fruit, yogurt, patisserie and "full English." Whether your stay is for business or pleasure expect a warm welcome at number 17. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your number 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 17 Hotel Norwich
Number 17 Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing