We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ugly Bug Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ugly Bug Inn
Ranked #27 of 86 Norwich B&B and Inns
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

this is a great pub with a very nice selection of ale.
the restaurant is amazing and very accommodating to a very fussy eater.
the room we had was very spacious and had a great view of the lake and garden
the staff where very friendly and happy to help
and john and alison the owners where friendly and happy to recommend days out
and have a friendly chat in the bar
will be going back for another stay very soon

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank londonsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    33
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
37
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Lovely pub with a really nice garden (with lake/big pond). Very freindly staff, recommended a dish for me (which subsequently was brilliant). Food was good value for what we had. All local produce to from what we heard. Really nice atmosphere, perfect for dinner or a quiet pint.

Many thanks to the owners (and Alfie the dog!!)

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Stayed for one night with my wife and daughter. Great real ale, excellent food, comfy room/bed. John and Alison made us feel very welcome and Alfie the dog was particularly friendly. Will definitely return on future visits to Norwich and highly recommend.

Jarl Walsh

Room Tip: Tranquil setting close to Norwich
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JarlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

First impressed by the atmosphere - many locals obviously enjoying the pub. John and Alison made us very welcome, and we enjoyed our stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bazz219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
363 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Went for dinner on Saturday night -a terrible experience. Male owner like Basil Fawlty
and female owner downright rude and aggressive when we complained about the poor standard and quality of food. These people should go on a customer care course to learn how to treat their guests.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BurySt_EdmundsTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Room ok for 3 star. Restaurant on first evening excellent and staff serving us. Breakfast 1 st morning good. Second morning no orange juice and when teenager requested a coke was met with the response I can bill you with one. Coffee pot practically empty and a new pot made rather ungraciously. When settling of bill was asked if we would like to make a gratuity on decling was treated very off handedly. A shame as the pub is in lovely quiet location and picturesque.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jocal_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
1.1 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
9.9 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich West (Showground/A47) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
5.4 mi away
Stower Grange
Stower Grange
#1 of 1 in Drayton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugly Bug Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugly Bug Inn

Property: The Ugly Bug Inn
Address: High House Farm Lane, Norwich NR9 5DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Ugly Bug Inn Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing