We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I didn't arrive in a order and cart so I expected more!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I didn't arrive in a order and cart so I expected more!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

In reality this hotel is no worse than the bottom end of the BW chain.
Dated, where else do you still see onyx panels in the bathroom, poor service and varied rooms.

This hotel fit all these Points.

- onyx bathroom
- poor service, when I arrived the receptionist was on the phone, annoying but acceptable, but after 3 or 4 minutes of her conversation she said that she would get someone for me, and stood doing nothing for a minute or so before someone came to the desk to serve me.

Maybe there was a power thing going on, ie checking in is beneath me etc but the words "customer first" Should have been in there somewhere.

The only positive on the service was the bar guy and
the Asian girl in the restaurant, well done those 2!

The main issue I had was with the electrics in room 204.

The lights were off and on like Nicole and Lewis! It was more a disco effect than an ambient lighting approach

On raising with reception they sent said bar guy (above)to fix, he reset the trip switch, and sodded off!

Then began the lighting to back up a full live version of MJ s Billy Jean!

Off reset on....
Off reset on...
and so it continued, up until the strobe lighting and previous experience sent me surrying to make my review.



  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_is_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for leaving your review of the hotel. I'm sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay, but thank you for telling us. If you had not informed us we would have been none the wiser. Since your stay we have had the room fully checked by an electrician & he found no fault in the room at all, I would suggest that you check all your electrical devices that you plugged in the room such as phone charger, laptop etc as you probably have a problem with them which was causing the problem. However you did fail to mention in your review that we did compensate you for this on check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    191
    138
    50
    44
See reviews for
104
212
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

After four years of visiting family in Norwich every couple of months we have tried several hotels and B&Bs but we always return to the Brook. The beds are the comfiest, the staff and the friendliest and the breakfast buffet is always fresh and tasty. After a long day out we like a bar snack and have eaten our way through the options and they are all delicious, freshly made and well presented. The restaurant meals are lovely too and on the DB&B rate, good value if you want 3 courses. It's right on the edge or Norwich so quieter than the hotels in the city centre. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is an average best Western. Good location, anout 5 miles from city centre. I booked this hotel as they had a gym. Got there and gym had not been jn opedatio6 for what sedmed like a while. Thye had a deL going with another local gym, but you had to pay for a day pass....not what booked so beware.

Rooms were fine although heating/air con did not work.

price ok room only but will have to ring next time to check facilities bbefore booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Room was adequate. However, it was very noisy and the windows may just as well have been open for the amount of noise that they kept out. They were very poorly double glazed with no sound proofing at all. Hotel is located incredibly near the road, and you could hear every vehicle speeding past. Earplugs should be provided by the hotel as standard procedure, along with the shampoo and shower gel! Do not stay in this hotel without packing the earplugs.

Also, be careful with breakfast booking. We had booked and paid for breakfast, but had a 7:30am departure time. Breakfast started at 7:30 and there was no refund when requested. Equally there was no opportunity to even take a coffee with us. Very inflexible. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Try the Premier Inn or Holiday Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My wife had a carvery meal, without being told there were no Yorkshire puddings, which to me is really an integral part of the meal. Also when she or ordered the key lime pie she was not told it had meringue layered on top. Which she can not eat. Apart from those issues the room was great and the welcome was warm.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Miles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich

Property: BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Address: Bowthorpe Employment Area, Norwich NR5 9JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Norwich offers 81 spacious bedrooms including family rooms and a luxury VIP suite in 3 star accommodation.The Hotel is ideally situated on the outskirts of Norwich City Centre providing easy access from all major routes and just a 10 minute drive to the city centre and airport.Join us at BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel for a business stay, a relaxing leisure break, a romantic weekend away or simply pop in to enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant and a chilled drink in our Bar. With FREE onsite car park, FREE Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Points, beautiful gardens and patio area to relax in the BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel is the only choice for your Norwich Hotel requirements... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing