We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel,great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good hotel,great staff”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed as a family adult group, my parents,us and my brother. We were on our way to the broads, for a holiday. The staff couldn't do enough for us, the rooms were good and the evening meal in the restaurant was first class. All the staff throughout this hotel are very helpful and obliging.

Room Tip: We booked with late rooms and were asked if we had any requirements,ie;a quiet room or extra pillows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBoothandking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    195
    145
    56
    51
See reviews for
111
226
27
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights as part of a reunion weekend of former colleagues. We were well looked after and my room was quiet, clean and pleasant. On the second (Saturday) evening there was a wedding reception which put the staff under huge pressure and it was also the Cup Final. As a result our reception meal was delayed by 30 minutes, which was not a problem, and we were entertained by two individuals. The first was an Arsenal supporter who, despite the general indifference to the match from those in the bar, insisted in trying to engage everyone by shouting at them, constantly waving his arms, and being aggressive without actually doing anything - pure farce. The second was a a waiter who was probably the most grumpy that we had seen in many a year. We guessed that he had been called in on his day off (or had a ticket to the cup final?) but he collected the empty glasses and went behind the bar and dropped them from about 2 feet much to the angst of the bar staff and the amazement of the customers. Breakfast was good. Would I stay there again - yes I would - overall good value and, in staff and customers alike, real people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room relatively close to reception - otherwise there can be a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightning83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

In reality this hotel is no worse than the bottom end of the BW chain.
Dated, where else do you still see onyx panels in the bathroom, poor service and varied rooms.

This hotel fit all these Points.

- onyx bathroom
- poor service, when I arrived the receptionist was on the phone, annoying but acceptable, but after 3 or 4 minutes of her conversation she said that she would get someone for me, and stood doing nothing for a minute or so before someone came to the desk to serve me.

Maybe there was a power thing going on, ie checking in is beneath me etc but the words "customer first" Should have been in there somewhere.

The only positive on the service was the bar guy and
the Asian girl in the restaurant, well done those 2!

The main issue I had was with the electrics in room 204.

The lights were off and on like Nicole and Lewis! It was more a disco effect than an ambient lighting approach

On raising with reception they sent said bar guy (above)to fix, he reset the trip switch, and sodded off!

Then began the lighting to back up a full live version of MJ s Billy Jean!

Off reset on....
Off reset on...
and so it continued, up until the strobe lighting and previous experience sent me surrying to make my review.



  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_is_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth S, General Manager at Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for leaving your review of the hotel. I'm sorry to hear about the problems you experienced during your stay, but thank you for telling us. If you had not informed us we would have been none the wiser. Since your stay we have had the room fully checked by an electrician & he found no fault in the room at all, I would suggest that you check all your electrical devices that you plugged in the room such as phone charger, laptop etc as you probably have a problem with them which was causing the problem. However you did fail to mention in your review that we did compensate you for this on check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After four years of visiting family in Norwich every couple of months we have tried several hotels and B&Bs but we always return to the Brook. The beds are the comfiest, the staff and the friendliest and the breakfast buffet is always fresh and tasty. After a long day out we like a bar snack and have eaten our way through the options and they are all delicious, freshly made and well presented. The restaurant meals are lovely too and on the DB&B rate, good value if you want 3 courses. It's right on the edge or Norwich so quieter than the hotels in the city centre. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel is an average best Western. Good location, anout 5 miles from city centre. I booked this hotel as they had a gym. Got there and gym had not been jn opedatio6 for what sedmed like a while. Thye had a deL going with another local gym, but you had to pay for a day pass....not what booked so beware.

Rooms were fine although heating/air con did not work.

price ok room only but will have to ring next time to check facilities bbefore booking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
451 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich

Property: Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Address: Bowthorpe Employment Area, Norwich NR5 9JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Norwich offers 81 spacious bedrooms including family rooms and a luxury VIP suite in 3 star accommodation.The Hotel is ideally situated on the outskirts of Norwich City Centre providing easy access from all major routes and just a 10 minute drive to the city centre and airport.Join us at BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel for a business stay, a relaxing leisure break, a romantic weekend away or simply pop in to enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant and a chilled drink in our Bar. With FREE onsite car park, FREE Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Points, beautiful gardens and patio area to relax in the BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel is the only choice for your Norwich Hotel requirements... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing