We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Middle of road”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. First room stank of mould and smoke - room 104 but we asked to be moved we got 110. This must have been one of the refurbished rooms as it was ok. Air con didn't work which was a shame as we half cooked! When checking in we were charged £100 extra lucky I spotted it ! Food slightly on the pricy side, breakfast was very good and well worth it's money apart from really letting itself down by having cheap crappy sausages and bacon. For a county of Norfolk you would of expected to get lovely local sausages not ones brought from the frozen section of Asda. Shame because the rest of breakfast was very good.
A well priced hotel ( if booked through travel supermarket where it's over £100 cheaper ) but they get you on the food and drinks prices. Overall you get what you pay for like most things in life I suppose. Service from staff very good and it's nice to see everyone with a smile all the time.
Loads of car parking spaces.
Road a little noisy, would have been ok if the air con was working as we could have shut the windows but never mind.
I think the gym and the swim pool was out of action due to a refurbishment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fairfulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    195
    145
    56
    51
See reviews for
111
226
27
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have used this hotel this time just for one night. The reception staff are excellent and booking in was quick. Room was clean and air conditioned we had a standard room only thing missing was a fridge. The bar staff are friendly and quick. Prices are what you expect at a hotel a little over the top. Breakfast great good and hot plenty to chose from coffee tea ect served as soon as you sit down we will defiantly use this hotel next time we are in the area

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Easy to find, good carpark but about 4 miles out of Norwich. When I arrived a coach load of pensioners were also filing towards reception. After a long drive this could have been worst nightmare. Thankfully the receptionist (I didn't get her name) quickly realised my plight and booked me in, star! The room was ok but the wifi was a bit hit and miss. The shower was also temperamental. Breakfast was good but it's amazing how much noise the pensioners made! So all in all would have been a 3 but for the fantastic reception staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth S, General Manager at Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. I'm sure you will be delighted to hear that our WIFI has been upgraded as of last week & is now has excellent service throughout the whole hotel. I will certainly pass your thanks on to the receptionist that checked you in & this very pleasing to hear they done this for you. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

No problems at all. attentive staff ensured excellent value for money. New chef since our previous visit, food was excellent. about ten minute drive from city centre with free parking (always a bonus!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed 1 night, booked one double & one twin. Check in smooth. Bedrooms good size with comfortable beds. Overlooked a small grassy area, so no traffic noise. Bathroom all in good working order & shower good pressure, However, whole hotel looks very 1980's. Melamine on the bathroom walls may be easier to clean, but not expected in a 3* hotel. Didn't take dinner in the hotel, ventured out into Norwich. Hotel on the outskirts so not within walking distance of the city centre.
Breakfast had the potential. No issue with quality, but restaurant needs better supervision. No one to greet us, so had to find our own table. Too slow at replenishing counter, so either had to wait or go without. Staff also slow at clearing empty plates, at one stage had to clear our own to create space.
Check out quick, but not asked if stay was good or thanked for custom.
Have stayed in much better for same or less money. Restaurant service really needs attention for a 3*

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_ATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth S, General Manager at Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience with us, this is certainly something I shall be feeding back to my Food & Beverage Manager. You are correct the hotel is on the outskirts of the city, but the bus service over the road operates every 15 minutes into the city centre & this is only 10 minute journey. I noticed you mentioned that the hotel had a 1980's look, I am sure you only mean the bathrooms in the bedrooms. The bathrooms are now under refurbishment but our public areas have been refurbished in the last 3 years & the feedback we receive for these areas is fantastic. We worked with a local interior designer who was once Sir Alan Sugars designer & I truly do not know how you could class these areas as 1980's, however I am aware we can not cater for everyone's style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Norwich
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western George Hotel
Best Western George Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
451 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich

Property: Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Address: Bowthorpe Employment Area, Norwich NR5 9JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Norwich offers 81 spacious bedrooms including family rooms and a luxury VIP suite in 3 star accommodation.The Hotel is ideally situated on the outskirts of Norwich City Centre providing easy access from all major routes and just a 10 minute drive to the city centre and airport.Join us at BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel for a business stay, a relaxing leisure break, a romantic weekend away or simply pop in to enjoy a delicious meal in our restaurant and a chilled drink in our Bar. With FREE onsite car park, FREE Wi-Fi and High Speed Internet Points, beautiful gardens and patio area to relax in the BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel is the only choice for your Norwich Hotel requirements... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing