We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking lunch with the family.”
Review of Brick Kilns

Brick Kilns
Ranked #192 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Mauprevoir, France
1 review
“Cracking lunch with the family.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Lovely feel to the place. Very welcoming with a good ambiance. We ate in the conservatory which could be a little cold in jan, but this was more than cosy. Log burner plus heating kept the chill at bay. A nice choice on the menu for all with a very good beer or two to wash it all down with. Will be booking again when in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrkittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    87
    41
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Country pub with a veggie/vegan difference”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Brick Kilns is about 15 minutes drive east of Norwich city centre. It's an unassuming place - on a rural crossroads like countless other country pubs (albeit painted bright pink).

The ambience is alright, feeling more like a large suburban pub than a cosy country inn, with an open dining room and large conservatory. The real ale and beer selection is good, with a couple of hand pubs supplying a range of Adnams brews.

The food is the Brick Kilns strong point. There's a large menu of comfort pub food, with a sizeable selection of fresh seafood from Lowest. The big surprise, and the big draw for some of the clientele, is the commendable page and a half of veggie and vegan dishes. One of the landlords is vegetarian, and having run the place for many years, she has developed a fantastic range of meat free pub meals.

Service is old fashioned and not so attentive (fine for a pub) but the meals are generously proportioned and ideal for a family get together. Importantly, and unlike so many pubs, vegetarian and vegan guests won't be obliged to pick from a selection of one token dish. We ate a Cheese and Broccoli Flan - which was deep and filled with large heads of broccoli. The Spicy Vegetable Crumble was more spicy vegetables than crumble, but it was fresh, full of flavour and ideal for a cold winter's day.

Not a gourmet destination, but a great family owned pub for diners who don't want to condemn their vegetarian friends and family to the same old goats cheese tart or mushroom risotto.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very poor. Don't get the positive reviews”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Went here on the basis of 1- Great TA reviews and 2 - veggie friendly food. The first I don't get at all from my experience and the second was downright poor. It's a nice enough pub, 3 humdrum Adams ales greet you in a cozy enough atmosphere. You're the told your table number, in a style that echoes UK hospitality c.1976. Then you have a menu choice that's impressively huge, perhaps too huge for credibility. Even on top of that there is a specials board, no one points it out to you but it's pretty big, and not one veggie main course special. The food , on the veggie items we had at least were hideous. I see most of the positive reviews are on the non veggie items, maybe that's the ficus here but don't shout (as they do ) that you are a great veggie/vegan place to eat. Every dish had issues, was priced well on the high side and cooked with the care and presentation skills of a failed McDonald's cook. The pic of my Gratin,a case in point, it looked like something the cat gives you on a bad night after eating off raw kippers. Raise the issue? No, there was no check back what so ever, even though staff passed the table countless times. Once, eventually someone graced their presence to clear our plates she asked us "how we're your meals" my wife got in first and said "they weren't great" to which the response was...? NOTHING! She just smiled and went, Muppets!. Earlier we highlighted the stale rolls that came with our soup, so the response from another server was to prod the roll with her fingers! We are so disappointed with this place, fair enough meat eaters are happy here, and being fairly busy there has to be something right here. But we experienced miserably low standards and if here to eat veggie food AVOID!

Helpful?
1 Thank theposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best skate wing.....”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I have lunch at this restaurant every six weeks. Tend to never check out the menu as they serve the best skate wing and that is what I order. I recently took a party of BBC colleagues for lunch and they were all so impressed that another get together is being organised soon. I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant. The food is well cooked and nicely presented plus the staff are very friendly and all in all this is a cracking nice place to eat . The large open fire in winter is so inviting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed, seems like they are sitting on their good name not earning it.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have been to the brick kilns many times before but this time on the 8th February 14 was terrible. When we arrived there was no warm welcome the lady behind the bar never smiled once she shouted to a waitress to change the place settings on the table never gave us eye contact but remained looking around the room as though we weren't even there.
Once we were given the menus we were rushed by two waitresses to place an order! Our glasses mobiles and clothes stuck to the table but that isn't new every time we go the tables are so sticky we put our tissues under our clothes.
I ordered Chinese pork chips and had to pay for a side salad, this side salad consisted of one and a half slices of cucumber lettuce and one tomato cut in half !! That is not a salad"" the pork was dry and the chips over cooked and we had to get the out of the silver tray with one desert spoon!
My husband ordered steak which had so much fat on it was dreadful.
I ordered peach Melba for a sweet it was one half tinned peach a scoop of ice cream with strawberry sauce not professional I could have done better at home. My husbands banana split was one sliced banana ice cream and squirty cream, totally pathetic and this meal with two drinks each cost us £50.00.
As we left we walked passed the same person on the bar who couldn't even say thank you good night, I will not be returning as this was a complete let down.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brick Kilns also viewed

 

Been to Brick Kilns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing