We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service”
Review of Madder Kitchen

Madder Kitchen
Ranked #65 of 835 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Madder Kitchen blends delicious, vibrant flavours with seasonal ingredients. Our menu is heavily influenced by our travels around the world; serving fresh, healthy food made with local produce. Eat in, takeaway or Deliveroo
Shenfield
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I went out for an evening meal at the end of May in Norwich and chose the Maddermarket Kitchen as it had some very good reviews on Trip Advisor- we were not disappointed. Although the restaurant was quite empty when we arrived- it was early Wednesday evening, the food was excellent and the service superb. So my advice is if you are staying in Norwich, eat here-you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    81
    29
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous darling!!! The best meal in Norwich”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Lovely atmosphere and location. Food was amazing, cannot recommend highly enough. You MUST try! Great idea to bring your own wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr&MrsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious! Great Food! Go you'll enjoy it!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Recommended to me recently & went for a lazy Friday lunch it was great. All the food was fantastic, tasty, delicious & well presented - a real find. Plus you take your own Alcohol so no feeling ripped off by wine prices. Really reasonably priced so will look forward to going many times again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RBowes62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best in Norwich”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best restaurant in Norwich. The menu is straight forward but has enough variation to cater for most tastes, the food is excellently cooked and staff are friendly. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank KaneBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch Off The Beaten Track”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Tried Maddermarket Kitchen for the first time when I visited Norwich, my home city, last week. Went with an old college friend for lunch. I had previously been to this building in another incarnation - 20 St John's - a lovely bistro which obviously didn't survive. I hope Maddermarket Kitchen does better.
The lunch menu was very good value, we had 2 courses - an lovely fresh sea bass fillet with fennel & roasted beets, followed by a light and flavoursome vanilla pannecotta with raspberry couli & fresh raspberries. We don't eat many carbs so asked to swap the mashed potato for a salad - this was accommodated with no problems.

We had tea & coffee and the bill with a tip came to £28 for the two of us. Only tiny annoying note - flowers on the table were dead - as were the ones on the mantelpiece. Were told they were being replaced later that day - but it didn't strike a good impression - as if dead flowers were ok for lunch customers but not for the evening!

Would love to try the evening menu - good skills being shown and great fresh flavours. I wish them good luck as this place is off the beaten track. Great if you're staying in the Duke Street Premierinn though :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank princesspentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madder Kitchen also viewed

Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Madder Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing