We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food in Norwich” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roti

Roti
Ranked #129 of 812 Restaurants in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Old meets new at Norwich���s Roti, a sublime Indian restaurant situated just five minutes from the city centre. Great care has gone in to the creation of the Roti dining room, at one time a traditional pub but now a clean, sleek space in which modern comfort is as central to the design as the look, intended to bring to mind the old gentlemen���s clubs of the Empire era. Booking is essential as Roti tends to get very busy, especially on Friday and Saturday evenings when locals flock for food before letting their hair down in the bars and clubs in town. It���s easy to see why this place is so popular, not only is the service friendly but Roti���s food is superb, earning plentiful good reviews from internet reviewers and five stars from the Norwich Evening News. Banned from using artificial additives, the kitchen relies only on natural ingredients, some imported from India for authenticity, to produce flavoursome and authentic Bangladeshi and Indian dishes.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Norwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I only go to this Indian restaurant for our takeaways and have done for the last few years after being disappointed with other Norwich takeaways, the food is very tasty and fresh, the portion sizes are excellent! The service is what makes it though, all staff are friendly, polite and welcoming, there is always a warm atmosphere. I would recommend Roti to everyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    60
    18
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, authentic Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've been coming to this restaurant for a number of years now and always found the service and venue to be top notch. However, what stands out most is the food. The authentic Indian cuisine simply is some of the best you will taste. I live 43 miles from the restaurant near King's Lynn and nowhere in my local area comes near the quality of Roti. I've just got back from taking my family (wife and twin boys) for a birthday meal, who really summed the restaurant asked when asked: 10/10 for me dad!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another great authentic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We have been a regular visitor over the years and have always had excellent meals and they even provided extra chillies to go with my Naga lamb. It is good to have indian cooking without the addition of colourings to the food. The management have always been helpful and keen to ensure you have a good experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visited with friends recently who have used the Roti on a few occasions. We had a great time and were well looked after by friendly and attentive staff, and the owner and his son who made us feel most welcome. However, one visits a restaurant for the food and this lived up to expectation with a full and varied menu. My wife felt that her chicken dansak should have contained slightly more meat but my prawn shatkkora was packed with prawns and was very tasty indeed. Not the cheapest restaurant but in my experience, cheapest is rarely best with eating out. Recommended to others and I'm sure we will return with our friends when next visiting Norwich.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank noctonlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempnall, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wonderful meal again last night when we took friends who are curry connoisseurs and they were really impressed with the variety on the menu, we also had 2 teenagers and a 12 year old who loves his food hot and they were all made to feel welcome too. The staff were very friendly, nothing is ever too much trouble for them and the service is always excellent, as is the food, of course. This is by far the best Indian restaurant in Norwich and we wouldn't even consider eating anywhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roti also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Roti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing