We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well thought-out site with everything catered for”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked in at Deers Glade for an overnight stay after an event at nearby Blickling.

Despite the website saying they were full, a quick phone call was all it took to squeeze us in. We stayed at Muntjac Meadow, off the main site but with it's own toilets, shower block and wash area.

There was a central campfire which was lovely and burnt late into the night. The field was big enough for us to pitch away from the family groups and the toilets were clean and modern, with two larger than average shower cubicles.

Although the field slopes in places, there wasn't an issue finding level ground. Parking was next to the tent - ideal - and spaces weren't allocated, so we could pitch where we liked.

The site office was located on the main site and was well stocked with essentials but we quite liked being on the Meadow. I would definitely recommend the site for all ages and will hopefully visit again.

Review based on 20 years of annual camping trips around the UK.

1  Thank Abbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at Easter in one of the basic camping pods, and we had a fantastic time! The pods were clean, warm and the toilet/shower facilities were excellent. The park was clean, well organised and the staff were helpful & friendly. It was nice to have an Easter egg hunt on the Sunday, a small charge but great fun & a lovely prize at the end. A stones throw from Cromer and the surrounding areas/beaches - ideal for families as we felt it was very safe. So good we're going next Easter too!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

After struggling to get booked into a number of sites on a busy August weekend, Deers Glade pleasantly welcomed us.

The staff warned us that the pitch was in their overflow field where there was a bit of a walk to the main reception.

This turned out to be great! A quiet field with easy access, clean toilets/showers and washing up facilities.

The site seemed very family focused with a camp fire lit each night at 7 (usually surrounded by kids) and kids running around safely during the day.

Overall very good!

Disappointed that the shop/reception closed at 6pm and that only one of the two men's showers had a interior curtain (meaning your clothes hung on the back of the door got a little wet)

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank R_a_hunterlody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week with our touring caravan, and we can only say that we did not want to leave. We loved the non-regimental set up of the pitches, and everything was so well-maintained... a credit to the staff, who were also very helpful and friendly. We tried to book another week, but, with the site being so popular, it was a non-starter. This is a really family-friendly site, and are looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank zggb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Deer's Glade is a well-maintained, easily accessible site. It has everything that's needed for a relaxing stay.
The toilets and showers are modern and cleaned regularly.
It is situated in a quiet area of Norfolk but is not isolated.
The pitches on the site are bounded with hedges and there is a good children's playground.
The site shop sells essentials such as bread, milk, etc. Newspapers can be ordered. There is free wifi.
There are walks around the site and Cromer, The Broads and Wells are easily accessible by road.
There are no pubs within immediate walking distance.
All in all, thoroughly recommended for a relaxing stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Deer's Glade last week for 3 days. It was the second time that we had stayed there and it was once again brilliant. Pitch was flat and well maintained, and the site was quiet and spotlessly clean. We pitched by the lake with hook up, and had a lovely time with our 2 children and my parents. We hired a fire pit and bought some logs and had fires on both evenings. Logs were a little damp, so get some charcoal to go in with the logs otherwise you can't keep the fire lit! We went to Bewilderwood in Wroxham, and hired a day boat from Stalham - both were really good fun. Although there are no activities at the site it suited us perfectly. We will definitely return!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank MattyB124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is the second time we've stayed a Deer's Glade over the last 2-3 years - and both times it poured with rain! But it's a testament to the site that our spirit's weren't dampened.

The site is very well kept with groups of 2-3 pitches separated by well manicured hedges. Behind the site is a boardwalk leading into some spooky woods with a stream running through. The location is very rural with country lanes all round - it's a drive to pretty much anywhere if you want to to do something outside of the site.

Although there is a small shop on site - but, like other campsites we've stayed in - it opens far too late for last minute breakfast items! I think it opened at about 9am - too late for summer when everyone is awake before 7.30! But like I say not much worse than anywhere else we've stayed

The showers are very good - clean, modern - and seem just the right temperature with no long wait for hot water :-)

Tranquil setting, surrounded by trees (pretty, but lots of 5am birdsong ! :-)), big sky and pretty sunsets.

Welcomes groups and in general is a peaceful, relaxed setting to kick back and share good times.

Recommended for the middle-class, middle-aged Glampers like me :-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jimmyd_cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
19.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,229 reviews
13.7 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
11.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
17.5 mi away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
947 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park

Address: White Post Road | Hanworth, Norwich NR11 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Norwich
Hotel Class:5 star — Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We opened in 2004 & are a quiet, rural, family-run caravan & camping park set in a beautiful woodland clearing in North Norfolk - a perfect venue for a relaxing holiday in the countryside! We cater for touring caravans, motorhomes, tents & Glamping. The caravan park & camping site has a natural play area for children, a fishing lake, cycle hire, dog walks, a dog sitting service, 2 high-class shower/toilet blocks & an on-site shop. Other features include ‘Muntjac Meadow’ known for its relaxing atmosphere & space which is exclusively open for August only as a back to basics camping meadow, situated a short walk from the main park. Experience the perfect ‘Glamping’ holiday with our Pods, Mega Pods, Bell Tents & Shepherds Hut. You can enjoy cycling around quiet country lanes, trying to spot the local wild deer, fishing in our lake or peaceful walks. Also we are only 10 minutes from the beautiful North Norfolk coastline where there are many beaches to choose from! Nature on your doorstep! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer's Glade Caravan & Camping Park Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing