We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat and tidy”
Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As I'd booked this before reading the reviews I was a liitle apprehensive but the place turned out to be perfectly adequate for an overnight stay.
This place is perfect for 'illicit encounters'.Entry to the building and the room are by keypad and all windows are whitewashed....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tonyclarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel is without doubt the worst hotel in the UK I have ever been to. There were human hairs on my bedsheets, the bathroom was filthy; toilet was not clean, the shower fitting did not work properly and was covered in encrusted limescale. The bath had a shower curtain that was black about 7 cm up from the bottom. The room had a funny smell as of stale tobacco from the previous occupier.
It may be cheap but no bargain can be worth staying in this dump.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JT73London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I have stayed in two MJB hotels and apartments in Norwich and both have been DIRE...DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM. You cannot get through to speak to anyone on the mobile phone. I tool my family to the Bristol House hotel in Norwich and we had people banging on the windows, my son was scared, we called and called to move but got no reply and ended up leaving at 1am and driving an hour and a half home. I made complaints and have NOT HAD MY MONEY BACK...THEY ARE MONEY GRABBING..and the room was hideous. Wee stains on the arm chair and the toilet was the most hideous thing I have seen. This company should go out of business. I am going to complain to the CAB and watchdog...

Room Tip: " Do not book with them"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I found the hotel easy to use, had no problems with check in and getting into the room. Location was key for me and it wasn't a noisy stay - I was there on a saturday.
Issues I had was cleaniness: my room had a dirty plaster found on the floor and the shower would get blocked.
Interesting features of my room (24) was the whited out windows and I found a porn dvd on the floor (!) under the dresser.
I only stayed for a night and left early so not a big issue overall, and it was cheap.
If i stayed longer it would have been a bit of a problem.

Room Tip: I was in Room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I used to live in Norwich and remembered this as a rather pleasant hotel in a lovely location. Sadly I didn't check out reviews before booking - note to self.
The room we'd been allocated was already occupied so a rather surly member of staff allocated us another. Grim is the only word to describe the room and the en suite; painted out windows and orange checked bed covers, saucers but no cups and a general air of grubbiness in both the room and the hallways - I don't think the carpets had seen a vacuum cleaner in months!
Needless-to-say we cut our losses and stayed in another hotel where we were guaranteed a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Avoid it like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewmanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Firstly, satnav will send you to the wrong end, its not by the uni and hospital but near the city centre
Secondly, the sign outside says MJB group not the beeches. Its a group of 3 seperate buildings, reception ( now there is a laugh ) is in the building opposite.
The young lad in reception is not helpful at all and has a disgusting manner and was politely told to change his manner or I would move his teeth, what idiot puts somebody like that on a reception desk. Windows are bits of painted wood!
I wont waste your time, marks out of 10
Cleanliness 4
Location to town 7
Value 4
Parking 7
Staff ( only this lad on duty ) 0
Quietness 6
Family friendly 1
Woman friendly 2
Workers friendly 6
Room facilities 6
All of the above was a stay in 16 the beeches.
Sorry but the painted windows and idiot on the door lead to a 1, sort this and its a 5/10
Enough said

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank toussaint c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here for one night last Thursday, and I feel as though I am a little bit scarred by the whole experience. My friend and I were having a clubbing night out, and just literally wanted somewhere to sleep for a few hours afterwards.

I wouldn't even let my dog sleep here.

Cold, disgusting mold patches, spiders everywhere, horrendous smell that is still clinging to my clothes after two washes.

Luckily I read these reviews before I went and took my own bed sheets. Very good move, the bedsheets they provided STANK and were damp.

Came back at 3am, and was greeted by a man looming at the entrance of the 'locked' door of the hotel. After letting us pass he then proceeded to follow us to our bedroom which was the last one in the hotel, and for some reason had a massive black cross on the door??? Very unnerving for two 21 year old girls! We then realised there was a massive loft hole in our bathroom, with big muddy hand prints all around it! Very scary! As i'm sure you can guess we didn't get much sleep! Weird banging and scuttling sounds all night long!

Basically if you've booked this hotel, I suggest you just don't go. It's not worth it!! Left in the morning exhausted, scared and absolutely filthy! No hand soap, no shower gel provided and I didn't even dare to get in to that shower..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luce999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Aylwyne House
Aylwyne House
#25 of 50 in Norwich
57 reviews
1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
2.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Address: 2-6 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £19 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Norwich
The Beeches Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing