We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking. Not worth £9.99.”
Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Reviewed 31 December 2013

They took £100 from my card for "damage" that was already there when we got the room. Nobody cleaned the room during the entire stay. Mattress was disgusting: no cover ancient and stained. Walls were marked and dirty. Huge cobwebs in the first room. Pillows were revolting. Stay well AWAY!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SummerLazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Five nice Victorian buildings in this area have been turned into cheap hotels by this company and it shows. The properties are unsupervised and access is problematic. Location is excellent but a good night cannot be guaranteed at weekends as local teenagers hire them for parties.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank edwinball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

stayed here 12 dec with my son, 25 pounds for a twin room.
location excellent, short walk to town.
key codes worked well, parking avail on site
as we walked in the main door there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke
and a mouldy smell, quite strong.
the rooms are basic we stayed in nbr 5 room upstairs and on the main road.
traffic/road noise so use earplugs...
the room had a small flat screen tv built in dvd with one channel only.
jug/tea coffee/sugar
microwave oven as well
more than what i expected.
bathroom was small/old,water warm to hot low pressure from the shower, average condition, but clean dirty, if that makes sense....
windows painted glass with no curtains, pained closed except for one that would open 6inches.
two single beds very comfortable.
heating was excellent, maybe too hot but comfortable
if your expecting 5 star you will be disapointed, its very basic and great value for 25 pounds.
would i stay there with my wife? well i would need to sell it...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustyone w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed here with a friend on 31/10/13 for one night.

From outside the hotel looks like a derelict haunted house (appropriate indeed given the date of our trip) but it would appear white washed windows are an all round feature here.

Upon arrival, our room code did not work. We contacted MJB and were provided an alternate number but customer care was definitely lacking, we were made to feel like an inconvenience.

The cold tap in our bathroom did not work, neither did the kettle provided, so no drinking water for us.

The beds were old and in desperate need of replacing while the cleanliness as a whole was not reasonable.

We complained to Booking.com and were advised our comments were sent direct to MJB. So far this has just been ignored.

Norwich is a beautiful city and I spent 3 brilliant years living there. Please book yourself in to a travelodge at the least and give the Beeches Hotel a sure fine miss.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loudgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Last year my Inlaws wanted to stay here but on opening their bedroom door they discovered the room had been double booked. The manager sent them to another room which was utterly disgusting and so they spent the night at ours.
THEY DID NOT GET THEIR MONEY BACK because the manager said they offered them a different room.
Used to be a lovely place but mjb have ruined these lovely Georgian houses

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I booked a room for a Saturday night in the Plantation Hotel, £80.00. No breakfast included, ok, similar priced hotels were not providing breakfast either. The best things that can be said about this hotel is that it's very easy to walk to city centre, it's also very quiet. But...
I received the codes to get into the hotel and a separate code room code, for Room 39, along with a statement that if I found anything wrong with the room on arrival, the only way they would take a complaint is by email, and absolutely not by phone. I don't have email on my mobile phone (I'm sorry, some of us just don't!) so I couldn't email to let them know that there was no light in the fixture above the basin in the bathroom, the bathroom floor was filthy, the light on the wall above the TV didn't work, there was no soap in either of the soap dispensers, no bathmat to step on to, there were unidentifiable, but definitely unpleasant stains on the carpet, possibly vomit related, no hairdrier, the toilet handle had to be practically wrenched three times to get the loo to flush, I couldn't open one of the windows, which incidentally are covered with a white substance, so no natural light into the room, but then again it saves on curtains - yes there were no curtains. There was only one towel for each guest, the shower curtain and the loo roll were of the cheapest flimsiest material possible, the bedding was appalling - I'm not sure the sheet, pillowcases and duvet cover had been changed since the last occupant of the room, the pillows - only one per person and no spares in the wardrobe - were lumpy, as was the duvet. I put a tee shirt over the pillow as an extra pillowcase and slept fully clothed. I have stayed in hotels all over Europe and have rarely found one as bad as this. It is possible to have a clean, comfortable room, with all lights working, hairdrier supplied, plenty of towels, breakfast included for £50.00 (check out The Big Sleep in Cheltenham - great hotel). Please do not make the same error as me - don't stay here.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jelytoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the beeches hotel in Norwich for 1 night. Previously a nice hotel we understood it had been taken over by another company, so were dubious but because of cheap rate and only a short stay thought it was worth the risk. Wrong!!! Cheap yes it was but certainly would not return. Initially couldn't find the room, it appeared we had been allocated a room in a stable/outbuilding. There is no reception or any staff based at the hotel and the email received pre stay did not provide directions to our outbuilding accommodation. Once we found the room, we then found a small dark windowless room, with no separate bathroom but a shower in the corner of the room. The toilet was filthy, previous guests excrement still visible. The room was extremely damp and smelt foul so much so once home all clothes had to be washed due to damp smell. Cobwebs everywhere in the room. The shower was broken and found it difficult adjusting temperature. We have travelled the world and stayed in more plush backpacking hostels. It was a bed for one night but would recommend no families or children stay in this so called hotel!! Finally it seems to be appropriate for younger guests who apparently find it reasonable to be very loud throughout the night without consideration for others. It reminded me of university halls but the beeches is far worse.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amesord100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
0.8 mi away
Aylwyne House
Aylwyne House
#25 of 50 in Norwich
57 reviews
1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#29 of 50 in Norwich
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Norwich Cringleford
2.8 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Address: 2-6 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range: £19 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Norwich
The Beeches Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing