We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Central and Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

A 3 Star Hotel in Norwich for about £22 per room per night in August. Seems unbelievable but since we found this on line we just had to give it a go. Very central, a short walk from the centre.

Consists of three separate Victorian houses a fair distance apart. Could be a bit creepy going back to the room in the dark, but once there the room was perfectly adequate and clean. Not much in the way of facilities in the hotel. There was a small and cheap bar with a bit TV on the wall. Staff generally friendly and helpful.

Only negative point was breakfast was advertised as up to 9.30 - we turned up just before then and were refused a cooked breakfast.

Check out the Victorian garden at the back. Lovely place and free to hotel guests though you may wish to pay the £2 entrance fee as it is upkept by keen volunteers.

  • Liked — Price and central locations
  • Disliked — Our breakfast problem
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    43
    23
    31
    173
See reviews for
30
88
35
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

We made a booking at the sister hotel, Beeches Lodge, a year in advance of our friend's wedding in Norwich only to find that a couple of days before the wedding the hotel rang us to say they had double booked our room - not a great start. We were then given an alternative room at The Beeches Hotel to make up for the double booking so we thought everything would be ok.....this was not the case at all.

We asked in advance and were told by the hotel management at The Beeches Hotel that we would be able to check in early on the day of arrival so that we could get ready for the wedding in the early afternoon. However when we arrived the girl at reception told us otherwise. Usual check in time is at 2pm but at 1pm our room had still not yet been cleaned. We were then told we could go to our room and use it for the purposes of getting ready even though our room had not been cleaned yet. We were forced to do this as we were running out of time to get ready. When we returned to our rooms in the evening the rooms had fortunately been cleaned.

The next morning when I used the shower, I ended up with a bump on my head as the shower pole had not been securely fastened to the wall so it fell off the wall when I lifted the shower head off the shower attachment and hit my head. This is a serious breach in health and safety - I could have been seriously injured. When I told the girl at reception about my accident the next morning she laughed at me - I was not impressed. I am writing this review in the hope that the mangement will read this and now seriously consider replacing the existing shower attachment with a new shower attachment.

Our room was spacious but in a very poor condition and needed refurbishment. The hotel has the air of a boutique hotel from the outside which is misleading as the rooms need serious improvement by refurbishment - do not be fooled by the exterior with the gardens.

We experienced the worst level of customer service possible here during our 1 night stay. The staff were rude and very unhelpful. The hotel tried to charge us for breakfast when their website clearly states breakfast is included in the room price. When we asked to speak to the manager about this the girl on reception told the manager we were complaining so we could get a free breakfast. Unbelieveably rude!

I would never stay here again.

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — broken shower attachment, poor quality interior- old carpets, curtains etc
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDNtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Norwich hotels

herts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

Stayed here for the one night when we went to the theatre. We went with another couple, who booked the hotel on our behalf. We were very pleasantly surprised having read some earlier reviews on this site. It appears to have been taken over by a hotel group who have done wonders for the general service and attitude off the staff. Our rooms were on the ground floor in a modern extension attached to the rear of the original Victorian building. They weren't enormous, but plenty adequate for our needs. The bed was wonderful!! Very, very comfortable and it was a delight to have a duvet instead of the sheets and blankets that are usually provided in hotels. The flat screen tv with freeview was also nice to have. The rooms did feel very warm, but wasn't a problem as the windows opened fully, so fresh air was readily available. After our theatre trip and meal we returned to the hotel and had no problem with late drinks at the bar served by the Night Porter, though I did feel he would rather have been doing other things!! Breakfast was nothing to write home about...I chose the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, but was rather disappointed with the quality of the salmon - pre-packed from Tesco it seemed!!

After breakfast we had time to walk around the Victorian sunken garden, which was free to hotel guests. Not our usual pastime, but cleared our heads nicely after a heavy night before!

All in all an excellent stay and wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Liked — lovely bed
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

All we really wanted was a reasonable room easily accessible to the city centre - and this was fine in that respect. Very pleasant & helpful reception staff. Our room was in one of the other 'houses' across the driveway, and as we didn't use the main hotel facilities, this was no inconvenience. The room was a little small, but adequate with tea-making facilities & sufficient wardrobe space. The central heating seemed overly efficient as it took some time to regulate it to a none-greenhouse level, but better that way than cold.
Excellent location for easy stroll to city centre. Reasonable value for money.

  • Liked — access to city centre
  • Disliked — over-hot room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.0 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#27 of 50 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#17 of 50 in Norwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#4 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Stracey Hotel
Stracey Hotel
#13 of 50 in Norwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Property: The Beeches Hotel
Address: 2-6 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Norwich
Beeches Norwich
The Beeches Hotel Norwich, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing